We found 35 results
indigoBookscaryl phillips

Your Store:

Sort By:

Sorted By: Top Matches
Filtered By:
Books
1 - 12 of 35 Results
Top Matches
The Housing Lark

The Housing Lark

by Sam Selvon

Paperback

|January 14, 2020

$20.00

In stock online
Available in stores
The humorous yet poignant novel of West Indian migrant life in London that adds an iconic voice to the growing Caribbean canon A Penguin Classic Set in London in the 1960's, when the UK encouraged its Commonwealth citizens to emigrate as a result of the post-war…
Lost Child: A Novel

Lost Child: A Novel

by Caryl Phillips

Paperback

|June 21, 2016

$30.00

In stock online
Not available in stores
Winner of the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award A gripping and inventive reimagining of Wuthering Heights , by award-winning author Caryl Phillips In the tradition of Jean Rhys's Wide Sargasso Sea and J. M. Coetzee's Foe , Caryl Phillips revisits Emily Brontë's…
Caryl Phillips, David Dabydeen and Fred D'Aguiar: Representations of slavery

Caryl Phillips, David Dabydeen and Fred D'Aguiar: Representations of slavery

by Abigail Ward

Paperback

|June 1, 2015

$31.89 online

$33.99list price

save 6%

Ships within 3-5 weeks
Not available in stores
Slavery is a recurring subject in works by the contemporary black writers in Britain Caryl Phillips, David Dabydeen and Fred D'Aguiar, yet their return to this past arises from an urgent need to understand the racial anxieties of twentieth- and…
Heart Of Darkness: And Selections From The Congo Diary
In stock online
Available in stores
Selected by the Modern Library as one of the 100 best novels of all time • Nominated as one of America’s best-loved novels by PBS’s  The Great American Read Introduction by Caryl Phillips Commentary by H. L. Mencken, E. M. Forster,…
Extravagant Strangers: A Literature Of Belonging
In stock online
Not available in stores
Shakespeare called Othello "an extravagant and wheeling stranger/Of here and every where." In this exciting anthology, Caryl Phillips has collected writings by thirty-nine extravagant strangers: British writers who were born outside of Britain…
The Nature of Blood

The Nature of Blood

by Caryl Phillips

Paperback

|April 28, 1998

$17.95

Ships within 1-2 weeks
Not available in stores
In his most ambitious novel to date, Phillips creates a dazzling kaleidoscope of historical fiction, one that illuminates the dark legacy of Europe's obsession with race and blood. At the center of The Nature of Blood is a young woman, a Nazi death camp…
History and Race in Caryl Phillips's The Nature of Blood
In stock online
Not available in stores
Mediating The Windrush Children: Caryl Phillips And Horace Ové
Out of stock online
Not available in stores
Mediating the Windrush Generation analyses three plays by St. Kitts-born British playwright Caryl Phillips and a film by Trinidadian-British filmmaker Horace Ové as artistic depictions of the experience of the Windrush generation, a term which refers to the…
Caryl Phillips

Caryl Phillips

by Helen Thomas

Paperback

|June 1, 2006

$32.95

Ships within 1-3 weeks
Not available in stores
A View of the Empire at Sunset: A Novel
In stock online
Not available in stores
Award-winning author Caryl Phillips presents a biographical novel of the life of Jean Rhys, the author of Wide Sargasso Sea , which she wrote as a prequel to Charlotte Brontë's Jane Eyre . Caryl Phillips's A View of the Empire at Sunset is the sweeping story of…
In The Falling Snow

In The Falling Snow

by Caryl Phillips

Paperback

|November 2, 2010

$17.34 online

$18.00list price

Ships within 1-2 weeks
Not available in stores
From one of our most admired fiction writers: the searing story of breakdown and recovery in the life of one man and of a society moving from one idea of itself to another.   Keith—born in England in the early 1960s to immigrant West Indian parents but…
Foreigners

Foreigners

by Caryl Phillips

Paperback

|November 11, 2008

$20.95

Ships within 1-2 weeks
Not available in stores
From an acclaimed, award-winning novelist comes this brilliant hybrid of reportage, fiction, and historical fact: the stories of three black men whose tragic lives speak resoundingly to the problem of race in British society. With his characteristic grace and…
Loading