We found 14 results
indigoBooksjohn jeremiah sullivan

Sort By:

Sorted By: Top Matches
Filtered By:
Books
1 - 12 of 14 Results
Top Matches
String Theory: David Foster Wallace On Tennis: A Library Of America Special Publication

In stock online

Available in stores

An instant classic of American sportswriting—the tennis essays of David Foster Wallace, “the best mind of his generation” (A. O. Scott) and “the best tennis-writer of all time” ( New York Times )   Gathered for the first time in…
Absalom, Absalom!: The Corrected Text

In stock online

Not available in stores

From the Modern Library’s new set of beautifully repackaged hardcover classics by William Faulkner—also available are Snopes, As I Lay Dying, The Sound and the Fury, Light in August, and Selected Short Stories First published in 1936, Absalom,…
The Best American Essays 2014
Paperback

|October 7, 2014

$22.50

In stock online

Available in stores

'A creature from an alternative universe . . . wanting to understand what is on the American mind should rush to the nearest bookstore and buy a copy of this distinguished anthology . . . Exhilarating.' - Publishers Weekly The Best American Essays 2014 is…
Pulphead: Essays
Paperback

|October 25, 2011

$14.75 online

$18.50list price

save 20%

In stock online

Available in stores

Named A Best Book of 2011 by the New York Times , Time Magazine, the Boston Globe and Entertainment Weekly A sharp-eyed, uniquely humane tour of America's cultural landscape-from high to low to lower than low-by the award-winning young star of the literary…
The Prime Minister Of Paradise: The True Story Of A Lost American History

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

The forgotten history of a colonial-era Utopia resonates to the present day in this epic of narrative nonfiction in the tradition of David Grann's The Lost City of Z and Rinker Buck's The Oregon Trail In 1735, charismatic German lawyer and accused atheist…
Pulphead: Essays
Kobo ebook

|October 25, 2011

$10.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

A New York Times Notable Book for 2011 One of Entertainment Weekly 's Top 10 Nonfiction Books of the Year 2011 A Time Magazine Top 10 Nonfiction book of 2011 A Boston Globe Best Nonfiction Book of 2011 One of Library Journal 's Best Books of 2011 A sharp-eyed,…
Blood Horses: Notes of a Sportswriter's Son
Paperback

|April 1, 2005

$10.00 online

$29.95list price

Out of stock online

Available in stores

"Sullivan has found the transcendent in the horse."-- Sports Illustrated Winner of a 2004 Whiting Writers' Award One evening late in his life, veteran sportswriter Mike Sullivan was asked by his son what he remembered best from his three decades in the press…
The Prime Minister Of Paradise: The True Story Of A Lost American History

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

The forgotten history of a colonial-era Utopia resonates to the present day in this epic of narrative nonfiction in the tradition of David Grann's The Lost City of Z and Rinker Buck's The Oregon Trail In 1735, charismatic German lawyer and accused atheist…
Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc
Paperback

|February 16, 2016

$21.00

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

An often overlooked masterpiece of historical fiction by the same author who brought us beloved classics such as The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn , here is Mark Twain’s last completed novel—a work of lifelong fascination that involved…
Pulphead: Essays
Audio Book (CD)

|November 3, 2015

$14.99

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

A New York Times Notable Book for 2011 One of Entertainment Weekly 's Top 10 Nonfiction Books of the Year 2011 A Time Magazine Top 10 Nonfiction Book of 2011 A Boston Globe Best Nonfiction Book of 2011 One of Library Journal 's Best Books of 2011 A sharp-eyed,…
Kentucky Renaissance: The Lexington Camera Club And Its Community, 1954-1974

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

A groundbreaking study of the extraordinary photographers, writers, printmakers, and publishers who formed a flourishing modernist community in Kentucky Dozens of American cities witnessed the founding of camera clubs in the first half of the 20th century, though…
Pulphead
Kobo ebook | Dutch

|November 7, 2013

$19.45

Available for download

Not available in stores

Kan je Amerika vervatten in een boek? Met Pulphead bewijst John Jeremiah Sullivan van wel. Hij neemt de lezer mee op een opwindende reis langs de hogere, lagere en vergeten cultuur van Amerika. In zijn essays combineert hij de energie van Hunter S. ompson met de…
Loading