We found 8 results
indigoBookskarolyn smardz frost

Sort By:

Sorted By: Top Matches
Filtered By:
Books
1 - 8 of 8 Results
Top Matches

In stock online

Available in stores

For readers of The Underground Railroad , The Known World , Bound for Canaan and The Book of Negroes comes the harrowing story of fifteen-year-old escaped slave Cecelia Reynolds, who slips away to freedom in Canada only to return to her childhood home as a free…

In stock online

Available in stores

" The Underground Railroad: Next Stop, Toronto! stands out as an engaging and highly readable account of the lives of Black people in Toronto in the 1800s. Adrienne Shadd , Afua Cooper and Karolyn Smardz Frost offer many helpful points of entry for readers…

Ships within 1-3 weeks

Not available in stores

Winner of the Governor General's Award for Non-Fiction, 2007 It was the day before Independence Day, 1831. As his bride, Lucie, was about to be "sold down the river" to the slave markets of New Orleans, young Thornton Blackburn planned a daring - and successful…

Out of stock online

Available in stores

Winner of the Governor General's Award for Non-Fiction, 2007 It was the day before Independence Day, 1831. As his bride, Lucie, was about to be "sold down the river" to the slave markets of New Orleans, young Thornton Blackburn planned a daring - and successful…

Available for download

Not available in stores

Ontario’s African-Canadian Heritage is composed of the collected works of Professor Fred Landon, who for more than 60 years wrote about African-Canadian history. The selected articles have, for the most part, never been surpassed by more recent research and offer…

Available for download

Not available in stores

For readers of The Underground Railroad , The Known World , Bound for Canaan and The Book of Negroes comes the harrowing story of fifteen-year-old escaped slave Cecelia Reynolds, who slips away to freedom in Canada only to return to her childhood home as a free…

Available for download

Not available in stores

As the major gateway into British North America for travelers on the Underground Railroad, the U.S./Canadian border along the Detroit River was a boundary that determined whether thousands of enslaved people of African descent could reach a place of freedom and…
Kobo ebook

|January 22, 2014

$21.29 online

$26.58

save 19%

Available for download

Not available in stores

The classic 1968 edition with historical notes WITH A NEW foreword by Karolyn Smardz Frost. Solomon Northup was a free man, the son of an emancipated Negro Slave. Until the spring of 1841 he lived a simple, uneventful life with his wife and three children in…