We found 44 results
indigoBookskathy kacer

Your Store:

Sort By:

Sorted By: Top Matches
Filtered By:
Books
1 - 12 of 44 Results
Top Matches
Hardcover

|September 6, 2016

$18.95

In stock online

Available in stores

When eight-year-old Irene is removed from her First Nations family to live in a residential school she is confused, frightened, and terribly homesick. She tries to remember who she is and where she came from, despite the efforts of the nuns who are in charge at…
Broken Strings
Paperback

|September 8, 2020

$12.99

In stock online

Available in stores

A violin and a middle-school musical unleash a dark family secret in this moving story by an award-winning author duo. For fans of The Devil's Arithmetic and Hana's Suitcase . It's 2002. In the aftermath of the twin towers -- and the death of her beloved…
Hiding Edith: A True Story
Paperback

|May 31, 2006

$14.65 online

$14.95list price

In stock online

Available in stores

Edith’s story is remarkable not only for her own bravery, but for the bravery of those that helped her: an entire village, including its mayor and citizenry, heroically conspired to conceal the presence of hundreds of Jewish children who lived in the safe…
The Brushmaker's Daughter
Perfect

|September 22, 2020

$10.95

In stock online

Available in stores

It is 1939 in Berlin, Germany, and twelve-year-old Lillian and her Papa are on the run from Nazi soldiers. Because they are Jewish, they are in danger of being arrested and put in prison. Lillian's father is blind and it seems no one is willing to help them,…
The Secret of Gabi's Dresser
Paperback

|April 13, 1999

$10.95

In stock online

Available in stores

Gabi is a young Jewish girl living in Czechoslovakia during the time of the Holocaust. Gradually life is getting harder and harder. Jews are bullied at school, they can’t visit each other at a certain time, they have to walk everywhere, they are not…
Je ne suis pas un numéro
Paperback | French

|February 1, 2017

$11.99

In stock online

Available in stores

See below for English description. Irene, huit ans et ses deux frères sont forcés de quitter leur famille pour aller dans un pensionnat loin de chez eux. C'est la loi! Dans cet endroit austère, on les empêche de parler leur langue et on leur donne un numéro en…
The Magician of Auschwitz
Hardcover

|September 5, 2014

$18.95

In stock online

Available in stores

Magic can be found in the darkest of places... It is the time of the Second World War, and Werner is a boy alone in the Auschwitz concentration camp. Separated from his family, he doesn’t have a friend in the world. He shares his bunk with a quiet man…
Louder Than Words
Paperback

|April 14, 2020

$12.95

In stock online

Available in stores

This third book in the series about heroes of WWII chronicles the life of Ludviga Pukas (Ukraine): Ludviga was a domestic worker who was hired by a Jewish high school teacher and took care of her three children. When the Germans occupied their town in July 1941,…
Stones On A Grave
Paperback

|September 29, 2015

$14.95

Ships within 3-5 weeks

Available in stores

Sara has never been out of the tiny town of Hope, Ontario, where she has been in an orphanage all her life. After a fire destroys the orphanage, clues about her parentage-a medical certificate and a Star of David-lead her to Germany. Despite her fears-she…
Masters of Silence
Paperback

|March 12, 2019

$12.95

In stock online

Not available in stores

Silence can be powerful. Kathy Kacer’s second book in her middle grade series about heroic rescues during WWII tells the tale of siblings Helen and Henry, and history’s most famous mime. Desperate to save them from the Nazis, Henry and…
To Look a Nazi in the Eye: A teen's account of a war criminal trial

In stock online

Available in stores

The true story of nineteen-year-old Jordana Lebowitz’s experience attending the war criminal trial of Oskar Groening. Groening worked at the Auschwitz concentration camp and became known as the “bookkeeper of Auschwitz”. In 2015 he stood…
Clara's War
Paperback

|April 3, 2001

$8.95

In stock online

Not available in stores

From the Silver Birch Award-winning author of The Secret of Gabi’s Dresser. It’s a dangerous time for thirteen-year-old Clara and her family. They have just been imprisoned in Terezin (Terezinstadt), a ghetto in a medieval town near Prague –…
Loading