We found 28 results
indigoBooksvirginia hamilton


Showing 1 - 12 of 28 Results

In stock online

Available in stores

Unavailable for several years, Virginia Hamilton’s award-winning companion to The People Could Fly traces the history of slavery in America in the voices and stories of those who lived it. Leo and Diane Dillon’s brilliant black-and-white illustrations…
Paperback

$15.29 online

$17.00

save 10%

In stock online

Available in stores

"The well-known author retells 24 black American folk tales in sure storytelling voice: animal tales, supernatural tales, fanciful and cautionary tales, and slave tales of freedom. All are beautifully readable. With the added attraction of 40 wonderfully…
Paperback

$8.08 online

$9.99

save 19%

In stock online

Not available in stores

Mayo Cornelius Higgins sits on his gleaming, forty-foot steel pole, towering over his home on Sarah's Mountain. Stretched before him are rolling hills and shady valleys. But behind him lie the wounds of strip mining, including a mountain of rubble that may one…
Picture Books

$24.95

In stock online

Not available in stores

“THE PEOPLE COULD FLY,” the title story in Virginia Hamilton’s prize-winning American Black folktale collection, is a fantasy tale of the slaves who possessed the ancient magic words that enabled them to literally fly away to freedom. And it is…
Paperback

$9.99

In stock online

Not available in stores

The house held secrets, Thomas knew, even before he first saw it looming gray and massive on its ledge of rock. It had a century-old legend -- two fugitive slaves had been killed by bounty hunters after leaving its passageways, and Dies Drear himself, the…
Paperback

$20.27 online

$28.00

save 27%

In stock online

Available in stores

A thought-provoking collection of twenty-five stories that reflect the wonder and glory of the origins of the world and humankind. With commentary by the author. 'A must for mythology shelves.' - Booklist

Bluish

by Virginia Hamilton

|June 1, 2002

Paperback

$7.99

In stock online

Not available in stores

Dreenie Douglass keeps a day-to-day journal that seems to revolve around Bluish, a girl in her fifth-grade class. The other girls call her Bluish because she looks like moonlight? ³So pale you can see the blue veins on her face and the back of her hands?²…

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Available in stores

Now in Laurel-Leaf, Virginia Hamilton's powerful true account of the sensational trial of a fugitive slave. The year is 1854, and Anthony Burns, a 20-year-old Virginia slave, has escaped to Boston. But according to the Fugitive Slave Act, a runaway can be…
Paperback

$10.99

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Not available in stores

Why had he come to her, with his dark secrets from a long-ago past? What was the purpose of their strange, haunting journeys back into her own childhood? Was it to help Dab, her retarded older brother, wracked with mysterious pain who sometimes took more care and…

Her Stories

by Virginia Hamilton

|January 1, 1996

Hardcover

$31.14 online

$34.99

save 11%

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Available in stores

In the tradition of Hamilton's The People Could Fly and In the Beginning, a dramatic new collection of 25 compelling tales from the female African American storytelling tradition. Each story focuses on the role of women--both real and fantastic--and their…
Audio Book (CD)

$34.66 online

$38.95

save 11%

Ships within 3-5 weeks

Not available in stores

Eleven-year-old Valena, her family, and dog live in rural Ohio, where she and her cousin Melinda share experiences that include seeing the aurora borealis, surviving a tornado, and going to an amazing circus. Yet Valena lives in both the present and the past as…

Zeely

by Virginia Hamilton

|May 1, 2006

Paperback

$7.99

Ships within 1-3 weeks

Not available in stores

"We'll spend the whole summer on the farm with Uncle Ross. I ought to make up something special just because we've never ever gone alone like this!" And the first thing Elizabeth does is give herself and her younger brother, John, new names -- Geeder and…