Covert Coffee: Book 2 The Serena Wilcox Dystopian Trilogy by Natalie Buske Thomas

Covert Coffee: Book 2 The Serena Wilcox Dystopian Trilogy

byNatalie Buske Thomas

Kobo ebook | May 1, 2013

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


An asset to President Ann Kinji in the past, Serena is snatched in Germany and brought back to the United States for a covert mission run by former government agents. Realizing that her participation is not entirely voluntary, she is desperate to complete the mission so that she can be reunited with her family. As Operation Covert Coffee draws her ever closer to the conspiracy to kill the president, she reaches out to the criminally insane for help, sinking deeper and deeper into a rabbit hole where the bodies are piling up and nothing is as it seems.

More about the Serena Wilcox Mysteries:

Serena Wilcox is a quirky former private detective, a happily married wife, and a mother of three. While Serena is far removed from the political scene, President Ann Kinji is drowning in a divided nation riddled with conspiracies, power-hungry government and criminal politicians. President Kinji calls upon government outsider Serena Wilcox. Can Serena save the day with her unlikely crew of vigilantes and burned agents?

The Serena Wilcox Mysteries began with three novellas published from 1998-2000 that developed a cult following (Gene Play, Virtual Memories, Camp Conviction). The Serena stories evolved into a popular series of fast-paced full length thrillers beginning with book one, Angels Mark. The series has a total of 12 books, plus a spin-off series called "10 Chapters".

The Serena Wilcox Mysteries is an usual series with unconventional themes. Because the books are fast, clean reads, they are a good choice for reading while traveling, sharing with YA readers, or nominating for a book club selection.

Other books in the series:

Bluebird Flown (book 3): Covert Coffee’s dystopian, eerie, and intense vibe continues!
Bluebird Flown goes even deeper into the madness of futuristic America; corrupt, heavy with conspiracies– chillingly close to tomorrow’s headlines. As the United States continues to spiral out of control, can Serena stop all of the traitors before they kill the President? As the layers of betrayal are peeled, will anyone remain standing?

Project Scarecrow (book 4): Serena and her crew are hired by the Gödel Solution Institute (GSI), run by former President Ann Kinji. Time travel technology is classified as top secret Project Scarecrow, but Project Scarecrow is compromised. Governments from the present and the future clash to control the destiny of mankind. Can Serena uncover who is behind this power struggle before history is forever altered?

Ruby Red (book 5): To investigate the men of the future, Serena must journey into the past. The government entities of the future are beyond sinister and they will stop at nothing to gain power over time travel technology. They threaten GSI, Serena herself, and ultimately the future of the entire planet. Why are the men of the future obsessed with the horrors of the past? Can Serena uncover what they’re doing before it’s too late?

Future Beyond (book 6): Serena Wilcox investigates corrupt governments of the past, present and future with her heroic crew. Serena is attacked by an evil power that manipulates her memories and uses them against her. The future of the world depends on her ability to see the difference between the truth and deception. Is Serena strong enough to fight against the evil that lurks in the future beyond? And what if the monsters of the future are ourselves?

The Serena Wilcox Mysteries in chronological order:

1. Gene Play (novella 1, 1998)

2. Virtual Memories (novella 2, 1999)

3. Camp Conviction (novella 3, 2000)

4. Angels Mark, 2011 (book 1)

5. Covert Coffee, 2012

6. Bluebird Flown, 2013

7. Project Scarecrow, 2013

8. Ruby Red, 2014

9. Future Beyond, 2014

10. Project Willow, 2014

11. Downward Spiral, late March 2015

12. TBA, 2015

Spin-off series “10 Chapters”:

1. Fender, 2015

2. Mol, late April 2015

3+ TBA

Title:Covert Coffee: Book 2 The Serena Wilcox Dystopian TrilogyFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:May 1, 2013Publisher:Independent Spirit PublishingLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:


Look for similar items by category:


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Covert Coffee A little hard to follow at times but still FIVE STARS overall for keeping the reader intrigued and guessing from beginning to end.
Date published: 2013-12-03