Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming The Unseen Forces That Stand In The Way Of True Inspiration

Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming The Unseen Forces That Stand In The Way Of True Inspiration

Hardcover | April 8, 2014

byEd Catmull, Amy Wallace

not yet rated|write a review
From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.

Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation—into the meetings, postmortems, and “Braintrust” sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about how to build a creative culture—but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, “an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible.”

For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, and WALL-E, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired—and so profitable.

As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his founding Pixar with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie’s success—and in the thirteen movies that followed—was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as:

• Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better.
• If you don’t strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead.
• It’s not the manager’s job to prevent risks. It’s the manager’s job to make it safe for others to take them.
• The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them.
• A company’s communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.
• Do not assume that general agreement will lead to change—it takes substantial energy to move a group, even when all are on board.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$22.67 online
$32.00 list price (save 29%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming The Unseen Forces That Stand In The Way Of True Inspiration

Hardcover | April 8, 2014
In stock online Available in stores
$22.67 online $32.00 (save 29%)

From the Publisher

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who str...

Ed Catmull is co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios and president of Pixar Animation and Disney Animation. He has been honored with five Academy Awards, including the Gordon E. Sawyer Award for lifetime achievement in the field of computer graphics. He received his Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Utah. He lives in San ...

other books by Ed Catmull

Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming The Unseen Forces That Stand In The Way Of True Inspiration
Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming The Unseen Forces That Sta...

Audio Book (CD)|Apr 8 2014

$31.02 online$41.00list price(save 24%)
To Infinity and Beyond!: The Story of Pixar Animation Studios
To Infinity and Beyond!: The Story of Pixar Animation S...

Kobo ebook|Nov 3 2015

$55.49 online$71.99list price(save 22%)
see all books by Ed Catmull
Format:HardcoverDimensions:368 pages, 9.56 × 6.5 × 1.12 inPublished:April 8, 2014Publisher:Random House of CanadaLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0307361179

ISBN - 13:9780307361172

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming The Unseen Forces That Stand In The Way Of True Inspiration

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok Was a bit bored by this. I know ppl like it but it wasn't for me
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprised by this one I picked it up to read it for just a few minutes, and kept picking it up. Brilliantly, and humbling, takes us through the barriers to our own creativity, and building a creative team.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from shocked by how interesting it really was good read
Date published: 2016-11-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Creativity Inc Insightful and historic. Need to read it a second time as I read "what", but it wasn't obvious to me on my first read " why" they did what they did. A definite read for anyone in the entertainment or digital media space.
Date published: 2015-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! This was a candid and insightful look inside the animation industry. The lessons gleaned from a career of undisputed success is more than enough wisdom for any leader in any industry. I wlll try to apply as much of these lessons as i can i to my own life and work. A must read.
Date published: 2015-03-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Slow Read Unless You Are A Fan of Pixar and/or Digital Animation I thought this would be a book full of examples that portray how to manage creative people. Instead, the first 30 pages at least are simply a personal history of how Pixar came to be. I have to say it's really boring. I'm not sure why Charles Duhigg would say it's required reading for managers, as at least so far there is absolutely no insight into how people at Pixar are managed. Maybe that comes later in the book, but it's unlikely I'll tough it out to find out.
Date published: 2015-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great book for Pixar fans It's great to get an idea of what goes behind the scenes of making some of the greatest animated films ever.
Date published: 2014-11-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Management stands in the way of true inspiration. Resistance is futile.
Date published: 2014-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lessons for leaders wrapped up in a great story (because Pixar, obviously) Co-founder and president of Pixar discusses in depth how Pixar became the driving force of Disney animation. Rather than prescribing how to fix your company so it works just like Pixar, he spends a lot of time telling stories, both of success and failure, with real candour about his thought processes and feelings. One of the great business books written by a head-of-firm.
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great read! An easy read into the trials and tributes of managing a team, upper management and ones own aspirations!
Date published: 2014-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! As someone who aspires to be an animator for Pixar and The Walt Disney Company, this book was extremely inspirational. Even for those who are not interested in it for the same reason that I am, it is a well-put-together collection of stories and ideas that, if not to help a creative business, prove to be an interesting read. I wish their were more books with insider information to Pixar such as this, because I didn't want to put this down. I finished it in one week, and now I'm searching for a book that will continue to catch my interest such as this one. Definitely recommend this to everyone!
Date published: 2014-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creativity a great story I am now about half way through the book. It is a very good account of the adventures of creating the most important animated film with computers. The account of how the management process worked and what did not work is very engaging and hard to put down. Catmull's insights into the team behavior and the critical meetings during the making of a film are detailed and clear indications of important issues not to be missed.
Date published: 2014-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If only If only more bosses were as enlightened as he (professes to be). Good read thought provoking, well written and charming references to my favourite animated movies.
Date published: 2014-04-23

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

FINALIST 2014 – Financial Times and McKinsey Business Book of the Year Award“Business gurus love to tell stories about Pixar, but this is our first chance to hear the real story from someone who lived it and led it. Everyone interested in managing innovation, or just in good managing, needs to read this book.” —Chip Heath, co-author Switch and Decisive “Achieving enormous success while holding fast to the highest artistic standards is a nice trick—and Pixar, with its creative leadership and persistent commitment to innovation, has pulled it off. This book should be required reading for any manager.” —Charles Duhigg, author of The Power of Habit “It’s one thing to be creative; it’s entirely another—and much more rare—to build a great and creative culture. Over more than thirty years, Ed Catmull has developed methods to root out and destroy the barriers to creativity, to marry creativity to the pursuit of excellence, and, most impressive, to sustain a culture of disciplined creativity through setbacks and success.  Pixar’s unrivaled record, and the joy their films have added to our lives, gives his method the most important validation: it works.” —Jim Collins, co-author Built to Last, author Good to Great “Many have attempted to formulate and categorize inspiration and creativity. What Ed Catmull shares instead is his astute experience that creativity isn’t strictly a well of ideas, but an alchemy of people. In Creativity, Inc. Ed reveals, with commonsense specificity and honesty, examples of how not to get in your own way and realize a creative coalescence of art, business and innovation.” —George Lucas “This is best book ever written on what it takes to build a creative organization. It is the best because Catmull’s wisdom, modesty, and self-awareness fill every page. He shows how Pixar’s greatness results from connecting the specific little things they do (mostly things that anyone can do in any organization) to the big goal that drives everyone in the company: Making films that make them feel proud of one another.” —Robert I. Sutton, Professor of Management Science at Stanford University, author of The No A**hole Rule and co-author of Scaling Up Excellence