Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter: A Novel

Paperback | May 17, 2011

byTom Franklin

not yet rated|write a review

“The classic trifecta of talent, heart, and a bone-deep sense of storytelling….A masterful performance, deftly rendered and deeply satisfying. For days on end, I woke with this story on my mind.”
   — David Wroblewski<_o3a_p>

<_o3a_p> 

“A new Tom Franklin novel is always a reason to get excited, but Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter is more—a cause for celebration. What a great novel by a great novelist.”
—Dennis Lehane<_o3a_p>

<_o3a_p> 

A powerful and resonant novel from Tom Franklin—critically acclaimed author of Smonk and  Hell at the BreechCrooked Letter, Crooked Letter tells the riveting story of two boyhood friends, torn apart by circumstance, who are brought together again by a terrible crime in a small Mississippi town. An extraordinary novel that seamlessly blends elements of crime and Southern literary fiction, Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter is a must for readers of Larry Brown, Pete Dexter, Ron Rash, and Dennis Lehane.<_o3a_p>

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.50

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

“The classic trifecta of talent, heart, and a bone-deep sense of storytelling….A masterful performance, deftly rendered and deeply satisfying. For days on end, I woke with this story on my mind.”   — David Wroblewski “A new Tom Franklin novel is always a reason to get excited, but Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter is more—a cause for cele...

From the Jacket

In the 1970s, Larry Ott and Silas "32" Jones were boyhood pals in a small town in rural Mississippi. Their worlds were as different as night and day: Larry was the child of lower-middle-class white parents, and Silas, the son of a poor, black single mother. But then Larry took a girl to a drive-in movie and she was never seen or heard ...

Tom Franklin is theNew York Timesbestselling author ofCrooked Letter, Crooked Letter, which won theLos Angeles TimesBook Prize and the Crime Writers' Association's Gold Dagger Award. His previous works includePoachers,Hell at the Breech, andSmonk. He teaches in the University of Mississippi's MFA program.

other books by Tom Franklin

Smonk: A Novel
Smonk: A Novel

Paperback|Nov 6 2007

$16.99

Hell At The Breech: A Novel
Hell At The Breech: A Novel

Paperback|Dec 16 2003

$19.99

The Tilted World: A Novel
The Tilted World: A Novel

Kobo ebook|Oct 1 2013

$11.99

see all books by Tom Franklin
Format:PaperbackDimensions:304 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.68 inPublished:May 17, 2011Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0060594675

ISBN - 13:9780060594671

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter: A Novel

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“[A] terrific new novel….If you’re looking for a smart, thoughtful novel that sinks deep into a Southern hamlet of the American psyche, Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter is your next book.”