Daniels' Orchestral Music by David DanielsDaniels' Orchestral Music by David Daniels

Daniels' Orchestral Music

byDavid Daniels

Hardcover | August 13, 2015

Pricing and Purchase Info

$113.76 online 
$120.95 list price save 5%
Earn 569 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Daniels' Orchestral Music is the gold standard among orchestra conductors, music programmers, symphony directors, and any other music professional-or student-seeking to research an orchestral program for a recital or a full season. Compositions cover the standard repertoire for American orchestra and this latest editions, nearly a decade since the previous, contains 7,700 entries. Daniels' Orchestral Music organize works alphabetically by composer and then work and contains year, duration and instrumentation. Additional sections address works for chorus, solo voices (including speaker or narrator), and solo instruments. Separately offered are orchestral works listed by instrumentation and by duration; works intended for youth concerts; significant anniversaries of composers; and composer groups for thematic programming; extended notes, a title index and list of publishers also appear, rounding out this monumental work.
David Daniels is Emeritus Professor of Music at Oakland University and Conductor Emeritus of the Warren Symphony, both in Michigan. He is coauthor with John Yaffé of Arias, Ensembles & Choruses (Scarecrow Press, 2012), and editor of two series of books: Music Finders, and Dictionaries for the Modern Musician. In 2016, he received a Lif...
Title:Daniels' Orchestral MusicFormat:HardcoverDimensions:906 pages, 11.22 × 8.77 × 2.15 inPublished:August 13, 2015Publisher:Rowman & Littlefield PublishersLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1442245379

ISBN - 13:9781442245372

Look for similar items by category:


Editorial Reviews

The newest edition of Orchestral Music continues the tradition of offering orchestra librarians as complete a compositional reference as is possible. It has been ten years since the fourth edition was published, and this edition has expanded from 6,400 entries to over 8,500 entries, and includes several new features.. There are two items that immediately caught my attention. The first was the inclusion of more movement titles/ designations in addition to the movement timings, even of large choral works, and the second was the addition of the date of the composition or revision.. I have often said a silent 'thank you' to David Daniels for his lifelong commitment to researching orchestral repertoire and making his information available to those of us in the orchestra world. Now I offer up a public 'thank you': well done, David, and much appreciated!