Dark Horse: An Eddy Harkness Novel by Rory FlynnDark Horse: An Eddy Harkness Novel by Rory Flynn

Dark Horse: An Eddy Harkness Novel

byRory Flynn

Hardcover | June 7, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.00 online 
$32.00 list price save 50%
Earn 80 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Boston narcotic detective Eddy Harkness is on the case again and this time the soul of the city is at stakeBoston narcotics detective Eddy Harkness is on the case again, and this time the soul of the city is at stake.

When a late-summer hurricane slams into Boston, Detective Eddy Harkness and his Narco-Intel crew are thrown into the eye of a very different kind of storm. Dark Horse - an especially pure and deadly brand of heroin - has infiltrated the gritty Lower South End. Harkness soon finds that the drug is also at the center of an audacious land grab by the city's corrupt new mayor and his shadowy power brokers. Meanwhile, Lower South End residents displaced by the storm use an obscure bylaw to move into Eddy's hometown, and soon enough tensions are running high along Nagog's tree-lined streets.Fast-paced and atmospheric , Dark Horse moves from dive bars to Harvard dorm rooms to the city's elite social clubs, as Harkness puts everything at risk - his department, his nascent family, and his life - to try to derail the seemingly unstoppable conspiracy before it's too late.
RORY FLYNN lives in Boston, Massachusetts. He is the author of the Eddy Harkness series, which debuted with Third Rail.
Loading
Title:Dark Horse: An Eddy Harkness NovelFormat:HardcoverDimensions:240 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.9 inPublished:June 7, 2016Publisher:Houghton Mifflin HarcourtLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0544253248

ISBN - 13:9780544253247

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Boston cop Eddy Harkness returns in a second turbo-charged adventure that kicks off with an apocalyptic flood and incorporates Colonial bylaws, big-city corruption, and a highly entertaining cast of characters." - The Boston Globe "I don't anticipate that the Boston Chamber of Commerce will be passing out copies of DARK HORSE any time soon, but they are probably missing a bet in not doing so. Flynn does such a terrific job of describing the twists and turns of the environs of Boston that one is tempted to visit the city just to do a self-guided tour through the scenes presented here. However, the reason to come - and stay - in Flynn's world is Harkness, who is realistically steady instead of flashy and is all the more a cop's cop because of it. Flynn's series is off to a roaring start with its first two volumes. Considering his present trajectory, it should continue for as long as he wishes." - Bookreporter "Dark Horse is an intriguing and suspenseful mystery? a solid, strong entry in this promising series." - Mysterious Reviews "Populated with crafty politicians and hard-core activists raging against the machine, Flynn's follow-up to Third Rail is a terrific atmospheric thriller. Fans of Dennis Lehane and Robert B. Parker will welcome this Boston cop." - Library Journal "Flynn is an extremely observant, skillful writer? and Harkness is an attractive character." - Publishers Weekly "Eddy Harkness is a welcome addition to the Boston crime scene, and Rory Flynn is a terrific writer who knows how to spin a yarn with grit and confidence." - Dennis Lehane , author of World Gone By "Rich in character, riveting in storytelling and fierce in feeling, Dark Horse is both a crackling crime novel and a tough-yet-tender love song to a city. And, with the bruised yet buoyant Eddy Harkness, Rory Flynn has given us a series not to be missed." - Megan Abbott , author of The Fever "As stylish as Parker, as tough as Lehane-a beautifully written, hip, and heartbreaking tale of Boston's dark side." - Hank Phillippi Ryan , Agatha, Anthony and Macavity award-winning author of What You See "Sleek, stylish, and bristling with punk-rock attitude, Rory Flynn's Dark Horse is an utter joy from start to finish. Flynn's wicked wit, live-wire plot, and knack for creating memorable, nuanced characters is guaranteed to hook. I can't wait for my next Harkness fix." - Chris Holm , author of The Killing Kind "Like its hero, punk-rocker-turned-narcotics-cop Eddy Harkness, Dark Horse is gritty, smart, compassionate and wicked funny. Flynn's sharp eye for Boston - in sunshine and shadow - is matched only by his deep love of the city and its people." - Wallace Stroby , author of the Crissa Stone series"