Dark Metropolis by Jaclyn Dolamore

Dark Metropolis

byJaclyn Dolamore

Hardcover | June 17, 2014

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.35 online 
$18.99
Earn 87 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

People are disappearing. Sixteen-year-old Thea Holder hears the rumors, but she can barely make ends meet, let alone worry about strangers who've gone missing. Her mother is cursed with a spell that's driving her mad, and whenever they touch, Thea is chilled by the magic, too. Thea must make a living for both of them in this sinister city, where danger lurks and greed rules.
Thea spends her nights waitressing at the decadent Telephone Club, attending to the glitzy clientele. But when her best friend, Nan, vanishes, Thea is compelled to find her. She meets Freddy, a young, magnetic patron at the club, and he agrees to help her uncover the city's secrets-even as he hides secrets of his own.

Together, they discover a new side of the city. Unrest is brewing behind closed doors as whispers of a gruesome magic spread. And if Thea and Freddy aren't careful, the masterminds behind the growing disappearances will be after them, too.

Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, this is a chilling thriller with a touch of magic where the dead don't always seem to stay that way.

About The Author

Jaclyn Dolamore (www.jaclyndolamore.com) spent her childhood reading as many books as she could lug home from the library and playing elaborate pretend games. She has a passion for history, thrift stores, vintage dresses, drawing, and local food. She lives with her partner, Dade, and three weird cats in a Victorian house in western Mar...
Between The Sea And The Sky
Between The Sea And The Sky

by Jaclyn Dolamore

$1.00$19.50

Out of stock online

Available in stores

Magic Under Glass
Magic Under Glass

by Jaclyn Dolamore

$8.19$9.31

Available for download

Not available in stores

Magic Under Stone
Magic Under Stone

by Jaclyn Dolamore

$14.99$18.64

Available for download

Not available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:Dark MetropolisFormat:HardcoverDimensions:304 pages, 8.62 × 5.88 × 1.12 inPublished:June 17, 2014Publisher:Disney-HyperionLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:142316332X

ISBN - 13:9781423163329

Customer Reviews of Dark Metropolis

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Gr 7 Up With her father missing and presumed dead and her mother becoming increasingly mentally unstable, 16-year-old Thea Holder must find work that will support the two of them. The waitressing job she finds at the Telephone Club introduces her to a mysterious boy, Freddy, and the sinister underworld with which he seems to be involved. When her best friend and co-worker, Nan, vanishes, the situation becomes increasingly perilous as Thea and Freddy discover that the city workers are literally dead men walking, kept alive through arcane magic. Reminiscent of Fritz Lang's 1927 sci-fi film Metropolis, this grim, pseudo magical world with hints of Jazz Age esque features never completely comes together. Unfortunately, what could have been an interesting premise is marred by stilted dialogue and two-dimension paper doll like characters. Two understated romances develop, including one between a zombie turned female photographer and an asexual fae teen who is willing to sacrifice herself for the cause. Teen readers would be better off reading Libba Bray's "Diviners" series (Little, Brown). Jane Henriksen Baird, Anchorage Public Library, AK-SLJ