Darkansas: A Novel by Jarret MiddletonDarkansas: A Novel by Jarret Middleton

Darkansas: A Novel

byJarret Middleton

Hardcover | August 18, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$24.77 online 
$40.50 list price save 38%
Earn 124 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

A Powell's Top Five Staff Pick of 2017 A Library Journal Top Fall Indie Fiction Pick The Nervous Breakdown Book Club Official Selection November 2017 A Spinetingler Magazine Best Books of 2017 A Barnes & Noble Recommended Read A Chicago Review of Books Recommended Read A Volume 1 Brooklyn Recommended Read A Book Riot Recommended Read Jordan is a country musician living in the shadow of his father, bluegrass legend Walker Bayne. A man who has made a lifetime of poor decisions, Jordan bounces between dive bars, accruing women and drinking himself to the brink of disaster. When he returns home to the Ozarks for his twin brother's wedding, Jordan discovers a curse that has haunted the Bayne family for generations. As old tensions resurface and Jordan searches for a way to escape his family's legacy, a mysterious hill dweller and his grotesque partner stalk the brothers' every move, determined to see the curse through to its end. Praised by Donald Ray Pollock as one of the best debuts of the year," Middleton establishes himself as a novelist in good company with Brian Panowich and Smith Henderson, yet in a category all his own. "
Jarret Middleton is the author of Darkansas and the novella An Dantomine Eerly . He was the founding editor of Dark Coast Press and the classics library Pharos Editions, an imprint of Counterpoint/Soft Skull Press. His fiction, essays, and reviews have appeared in Shelf Awareness, The Quarterly Conversation, The Weeklings, Vol. 1 Broo...
Loading
Title:Darkansas: A NovelFormat:HardcoverDimensions:216 pages, 8.5 × 5.5 × 0.78 inPublished:August 18, 2017Publisher:Dzanc BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1945814292

ISBN - 13:9781945814297

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Middleton's tale is irresistibly gothic"- Barnes & Noble "A novel in the Southern Gothic tradition... Darkansas looks like it will live up to its name for sure."- BookRiot "An edgy, modern version of Southern Gothic, with plenty of atmosphere and action."- Literary Hub "A book that deserves many readers, one I suspect will be passed around for many years. ... Middleton's creepy, crawly sentences are laden with gothic thicket, and the atmosphere he evokes is mystical. ... In a memorable and skilled novel, Middleton suggests that there are unexplained mysteries out there, and that their presence may play a heavier hand in our daily lives than we'd like to believe."- Arkansas Times " Darkansas is a dark, compelling novel of country noir about a family with a secret past and a curse several generations old... a novel that shares DNA not only with the best contemporary Southern Gothic and country noir authors but also with literary giants like William Faulkner and Cormac McCarthy." - Criminal Element "From the get-go, Middleton grabs readers with an eerie dream about a violent death, a portent of things to come in his page-turning debut about a family's curse... the book is elevated by Middleton's prose, especially the rough and textured descriptions of the landscapes and environment." - Publishers Weekly "A well-carved story of a family's curse, as brittle and grotesque as any works in the vein of Faulkner or O'Connor. A subversive twist on Southern myths that's surprisingly rich in its execution." - Kirkus Reviews "Finding the right phrase to describe Jarret Middleton's new novel isn't easy. It's a tale of the tensions within a family; it's the story of that family's bloody history; and it's an account of bizarre and uncanny forces heightening existing conflicts and transforming them into something horrific. Classifying this book isn't easy, but the tense and gripping sensations that reading it sparks are undeniable." - Vol 1 Brooklyn "Old grudges, regrets, jealousy and 150 years of buried secrets... . Bleak, perhaps, but Darkansas also shines with a light of empathy for a family with more than its share of bad luck to go along with its bad genes." - Shelf Awareness "The devil didn't go down to Georgia, he went to Arkansas, where the Bayne family struggle against Beelzebub's grip on their collective fates. Middleton's ferocious debut has it all-sex, song, sadness, and a history as dark and twisted as the Ozark hollers that fill these pages. Holy hell, what a book."-Peter Geye, author of Wintering "Gritty, ghostly, poetic... one of the best debuts of the year."-Donald Ray Pollock, author of The Heavenly Table "A mesmerizing debut [. . .] There is a dark magic in Middleton's prose that is impossible to resist."-Jonathan Evison, New York Times best-selling author of The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving "Middleton's lush writing creates an atmosphere both beauitful and horrific. A grand debut that pushes the limits of 'Southern Gothic' and delivers an engrossing story of family, love, and fate."-Kathi Kirby, Powell's Books, Portland, OR "Middleton's brilliant debut is a vivid, haunting page-turner in the American gothic tradition."-Garth Stein, New York Times best-selling author of The Art of Racing in the Rain "A slow burn [. . .] Before you know it you can't put it down. A barbed meditation on fear, family, and the monstrousness of fate."-Brian Evenson, author of Last Days "A delicious blend of the gritty reality inherent in dysfunctional family relationships and the magical realism of small towns in the mythic 'deep south' [. . .] You can practically hear Ry Cooder's guitar licks playing in the background."-Paul Hanson, Village Books, Bellingham, WA "Reminiscent of the works of Larry Brown and Rick Bass; richly drawn, refreshing, and authentic [. . .] An innovative literary voice that I look forward to following for decades to come."-Nickolas Butler, author of The Hearts of Men "