Daybreak: The Days of Redemption Series, Book One by Shelley S GrayDaybreak: The Days of Redemption Series, Book One by Shelley S Gray

Daybreak: The Days of Redemption Series, Book One

byShelley S Gray

Paperback | August 11, 2016

Pricing and Purchase Info

$4.00 online 
$15.99 list price
Earn 20 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Available in stores


In this close-knit Amish family, nothing is as perfect as it seems . . .

When Viola Keim starts working at a nearby Mennonite retirement home, she strikes up an unlikely friendship with resident Atle, whose only living relative, son Edward, is living as a missionary in Nicaragua. Viola understands the importance of mission work, but she can't imagine leaving her father in the hands of strangers. Even though her family is New Order Amish, it's not the Amish way, and though she doesn't know Ed, she judges him for abandoning his father.

But when Ed surprises his father with a visit, Viola and Ed both discover an attraction they never expected. Despite her feelings, choosing Ed would mean moving to a far-off country and leaving her family behind. She can't do that. Her twin sister, Elsie, is going blind and will need someone to care for her all her life. Her family is reeling with the recent discovery that her grandmother hid her past as an Englischer. Her father seems forgetful and distracted—and to be harboring some secrets of his own.

Does Viola dare leave them all behind and forge her own life? Or will family ties mean her one chance at love slips away?

Shelley Shepard Gray is aNew York TimesandUSA Todaybestselling author, a finalist for the American Christian Fiction Writers prestigious Carol Award, and a two-time HOLT Medallion winner. She lives in southern Ohio, where she writes full time, bakes too much, and can often be found walking her dachshunds on her town's bike trail.
Title:Daybreak: The Days of Redemption Series, Book OneFormat:PaperbackDimensions:272 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.61 inPublished:August 11, 2016Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062204408

ISBN - 13:9780062204400


Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Read A multi-generational story that revolves around the complexities of family life. There are so many layers in this book I don't know where to start. Gray does a wonderful job of weaving diverse stories around a common thread. While Viola and Ed take center stage in Daybreak, the reader is invited into the lives of other members of the Kiem family as well. They aren't your stereotypical Amish family and Gray provides a realistic, sometime gritty view of dysfunction and how it affects generations. The first in a series, I'm anxious to continue the Kiem's family saga in future books. Gray excels at creating a satisfying standalone story in the midst of a series with common threads. While my reader's heart is immensely satisfied by the conclusion, my interest is piqued over some unanswered questions. Gray always leaves me wanting more.
Date published: 2013-02-23

Editorial Reviews

“An Amish community backdrop adds homespun sweetness, with a focus on simplicity and family that’s never readers will have no trouble starting the series here.”