Dead Ground In Between by Maureen JenningsDead Ground In Between by Maureen Jennings

Dead Ground In Between

byMaureen Jennings

Paperback | August 8, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.75 online 
$19.95 list price save 11%
Earn 89 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

From Canada's premier author of historical mysteries, Maureen Jennings, comes the haunting fourth novel in the DI Tom Tyler series. Set in Britain during the darkest days of World War II, this is a must-read for fans of Foyle's War, Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs series, and wartime dramas.


It's late 1942; the war is still raging and the upcoming Christmas season looks bleak. Detective Inspector Tom Tyler is settling into his placement in Ludlow, Shropshire, a small town jammed with people sent there by the conflict. On the outskirts is an Italian PoW camp and many PoWs work on local farms where manpower is sorely needed. Fraternizing is forbidden but, as Tyler knows only too well, the human heart has a way of crossing boundaries.
     Tyler's job is both to keep the peace and to enforce wartime regulations. Magistrate's court is busy. Then a troubled old man goes missing in a winter storm. The next day his body is discovered in a secret hideout supposedly known to very few. It soon becomes clear that a crime has been committed, and there is no shortage of suspects. Tyler senses that the two evacuee children who found the body are not telling the entire truth, but when he goes to question them further, he learns they have taken off from their foster home. It becomes imperative that he find them.
     Showcasing her characteristic masterful storytelling and deep empathy for her characters -- from the bravest and most blameless to the profoundly troubled -- Jennings has created another outstanding novel that is both a page-turning mystery and a rich, satisfying reading experience.
Born in England, MAUREEN JENNINGS emigrated to Canada as a teenager. The first Detective Murdoch mystery was published in 1997. Six more followed, all to enthusiastic reviews. In 2003, Shaftesbury Films adapted three of the novels into movies of the week, and four years later the Murdoch Mysteries TV series was created; it is now shown...
Loading
Title:Dead Ground In BetweenFormat:PaperbackDimensions:288 pages, 7.99 × 5.19 × 0.75 inPublished:August 8, 2017Publisher:McClelland & StewartLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0771050577

ISBN - 13:9780771050572

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful characters A "real" story. The characters are true to their time, their reactions true to their situations, the dialogue is real. It all falls together nicely into a very enjoyable read. I look forward to reading the others in the series. The tone is easy going and compelling. The police procedures are interesting and very hands on.
Date published: 2017-11-10

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Maureen Jennings's DI Tom Tyler series: • "Amazingly vivid and terribly real." -- New York Times Book Review • "Great historical detail. . . . Another winner for Jennings. Fans of the Foyle's War TV series should rejoice." -- The Globe and Mail • "It's among Jennings's gifts that all her people are painted in full colours [and] Tom Tyler is the most complete and human of them all. . . . Verges on classic war-fiction status." -- London Free Press • "Readers will be swept away." -- Library Journal (starred review)