Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel by AJ PearceDear Mrs. Bird: A Novel by AJ Pearce

Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel

byAJ Pearce

Hardcover | July 3, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$32.62 online 
$35.00 list price save 6%
Earn 163 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

Pre-order online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not yet available in stores

about

“A marvelous treat. Charming and delightful.” —Nina Stibbe, author of Love, Nina

An irresistible debut set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist— a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.

London, 1940. Emmeline Lake is Doing Her Bit for the war effort, volunteering as a telephone operator with the Auxiliary Fire Services. When Emmy sees an advertisement for a job at the London Evening Chronicle, her dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent suddenly seem achievable. But the job turns out to be working as a typist for the fierce and renowned advice columnist, Henrietta Bird. Emmy is disappointed, but gamely bucks up and buckles down.

Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight in the bin. But when Emmy reads poignant notes from women who may have Gone Too Far with the wrong men, or who can’t bear to let their children be evacuated, she is unable to resist responding. As the German planes make their nightly raids, and London picks up the smoldering pieces each morning, Emmy secretly begins to write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles.

Prepare to fall head over heels for Emmy and her best friend, Bunty, who are gutsy and spirited, even in the face of a terrible blow. The irrepressible Emmy keeps writing letters in this hilarious and enormously moving tale of friendship, the kindness of strangers, and ordinary people in extraordinary times.
Title:Dear Mrs. Bird: A NovelFormat:HardcoverDimensions:288 pages, 9 × 6 × 1 inPublished:July 3, 2018Publisher:ScribnerLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1501170066

ISBN - 13:9781501170065

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you enjoyed reading "The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society" then you will fall in love with "Dear Mrs. Bird". A delightful and witty piece of historical fiction which will have you both laughing and crying. Emmy is an aspiring girl war correspondent who leaves her job as a secretary at a law firm to work for a newspaper. Her dreams are dashed when she discovers that she is merely a typist for Mrs. Bird, an overbearing and imperious ladies columnist writer who brooks no "unpleasantness" in her column. As Emmy reads the letters sent into the paper, she feels impelled to respond to these heartfelt requests. But she hadn't counted on the consequences her actions would eventually bring. Funny, poignant and touching, this novel will soon become one of your favourites. If you enjoyed reading "The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society" then you will fall in love with "Dear Mrs. Bird". I would love to see a sequel to this story.
Date published: 2018-06-11

Editorial Reviews

“Fans of Jojo Moyes will enjoy Pearce’s debut, with its plucky female characters and fresh portrait of women’s lives in wartime Britain.”
Library Journal