Death At The Emerald: A Frances Ffolkes Mystery by R. J. KoretoDeath At The Emerald: A Frances Ffolkes Mystery by R. J. Koreto

Death At The Emerald: A Frances Ffolkes Mystery

byR. J. Koreto

Hardcover | November 17, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$41.95

Earn 210 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

about

One-named stunning actress Helen mysteriously vanished 30 years ago. An elderly family friend is unable to bear not knowing any longer and commissions Lady Frances Ffolkes to track her down. Taking on the role of Lady Sherlock, with her loyal maid Mallow drafted as her Watson, Frances finds herself immersed in the glamorous world of Edwardian theater and London's latest craze - motion pictures.As Frances and Mallow make their way through the theaters, they meet colorful figures such as George Bernard Shaw and King Edward II. Tracking the theaters seems like a dead end. That is until one of Helen's old suitors is suddenly murdered. With the stakes raised, Frances and Mallow work quickly to uncover a box of subtle clues to Helen's whereabouts. But someone unexpected wants that box just as badly and is willing to kill to keep it shut.The stage is set for murder and Frances and Mallow are determined to unravel the decades-old conspiracy in Death at the Emerald, R. J. Koreto's third installment in the captivating Lady Frances Ffolkes mysteries.
Like his heroine, Frances Ffolkes,R. J. Koreto is a graduate of Vassar College. He has spent most of his career as a financial journalist. He is a member of Mystery Writers of America, and his work has appeared in Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine . He lives in New York, NY. This is his third Lady Frances historical mystery following Dea...
Loading
Title:Death At The Emerald: A Frances Ffolkes MysteryFormat:HardcoverProduct dimensions:272 pages, 9.25 × 6.13 × 1.1 inShipping dimensions:9.25 × 6.13 × 1.1 inPublished:November 17, 2017Publisher:Crooked Lane BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1683313372

ISBN - 13:9781683313373

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Death at the Emerald :An intriguing series." - Deadly Pleasures "Engaging... A good bet for fans of Rhys Bowen and Kate Saunders andfor lovers of Downton Abbey ." - Library Journal "Beautifully appointed and written with measured authority... A reprinting of anauthentic novel from the early 20th century." - Kirkus Reviews "Flawless historical detail and character mannerisms... A delight." - Historical Novels Review "R. J. Koreto does not disappoint in the third novel in this series, and we look forward to many more adventures with Lady Frances and Miss Mallow." - Manhattan Book Review Praise for Death Among Rubies :"Appealing... Koreto nicely blends international intrigue and affairs of the heart." - Publishers Weekly "Koreto's second case for his title heroine is devilishly clever and written with unmistakable verve." - Kirkus Reviews "Koreto skillfully contrasts the feminist milieu of 1907 England with the establishment class structure. Lady Frances and Mallow are an effective pairing." - Booklist "The character dialogue is fantastic. The female leads are simply wonderful... I can tell the writer loves this time period, as he handles the era's mannerisms and conventions masterfully. All in all, this is a delightful read." - Historical Novels Review "A charming Edwardian mystery with a delightfully unconventional heroine... Fans of Rhys Bowen, Charles Todd and Jacqueline Winspear are sure to enjoy." - Shelf Awareness "A very enjoyable series... Koreto has definitely made a mark in the writing world: He is a superb writer of the beloved upstairs/downstairs mystery." - Suspense Magazine "I loved every minute... With a memorable heroine, rich atmosphere, and intriguing mystery, Koreto has created a book that will engage and entertain readers. I eagerly await book 2. Highly recommended!" - Historical Novel Society, Editor's Choice"Is Lady Frances Ffolkes going to be the next hot new thing? I certainly hope so... Here's to a new cozy heroine to add to your must-read list... May she and her creator march to success." - BookReporter "