Death in the Woods and Other Stories by Sherwood Anderson

Death in the Woods and Other Stories

bySherwood Anderson

Kobo ebook | August 20, 2013

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


This carefully crafted ebook: "Death in the Woods and Other Stories" is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents.The title story in this collection, 'Death in the Woods', first published in 1933, is widely regarded as a masterpiece. The narrator looks back at an incident in his childhood where an old woman dies in the cold - in life she was destined to feed those around her, after her death, he feeds from her too. The narrator, looking back, tries to organize his memories and create a meaning and beauty out of them. Rather than remembering an aged woman, he remembers a beautiful, "statuesque" and almost marble figure. The last story is about a dysfunctional family who experiences death in various ways - a potential physical death of a son and a rather more serious death that is not physical. It reflects on family relationships and how "enemies" among the family constantly occur, for example, a mother-daughter or father-son enmity. Sherwood Anderson (1876 – 1941) was an American novelist and short story writer, known for subjective and self-revealing works. Anderson published several short story collections, novels, memoirs, books of essays, and a book of poetry. The collection is made up of 16 stories: Death in the Woods The Return There She Is -- She is Taking Her Bath The Lost Novel The Fight Like a Queen That Sophistication In a Strange Town These Mountaineers A Sentimental Journey A Jury Case Another Wife A Meeting South The Flood Why They Got Married Brother Death

Title:Death in the Woods and Other StoriesFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:August 20, 2013Publisher:e-artnowLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:8074843750

ISBN - 13:9788074843754

Look for similar items by category: