Discovering The Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade: The Evolution of Dashiell Hammett's Masterpiece, Including John Huston's Movie with Humphrey Bogart by Richard LaymanDiscovering The Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade: The Evolution of Dashiell Hammett's Masterpiece, Including John Huston's Movie with Humphrey Bogart by Richard Layman

Discovering The Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade: The Evolution of Dashiell Hammett's Masterpiece…

EditorRichard Layman

Paperback | September 7, 2005

Pricing and Purchase Info

$26.19 online 
$26.95 list price
Earn 131 plum® points

Out of stock online

Not available in stores

about

Named by Mystery Writers of America as the 2006 Edgar Award finalist for Best Critical/Biographical Book of the Year
 
The Maltese Falcon has been widely lauded since its original publication in 1930. In its movie adaptation, it not only birthed American film noir but also ranks as one of the 100 greatest movies of all time, as selected by the American Film Institute. Now this treasury of memorabilia on Sam Spade and his creator, Dashiell Hammett, uncovers a wealth of documents and photos about the book and movie from institutional and private archives, many of which are previously unpublished and are available nowhere else. Providing far more information than any resource before it, the book delves deeply into the tale of the jeweled avian statue, including a full account of Hammett's detective career, a chronology of his life and publications, sources and notes the author used in constructing the book, and never-before-seen documents from the book's film, stage, and radio adaptations. This version has been updated to include additional contents, color photos, and an index. Available now for any audience, it will be a joy for fans of Sam Spade, Hammett, film noir, and the history of cinema and literature.
Richard Layman is the author of several books on Dashiell Hammett, including American Masterpieces: The Maltese Falcon, Dashiell Hammett: A Descriptive Bibliography, and Shadow Man: The Life of Dashiell Hammett. He has been nominated for an Edgar Award by the Mystery Writers of America for editing Selected Letters of Dashiell Hammett, ...
Shadow Man: The Life Of Dashiell Hammett
Shadow Man: The Life Of Dashiell Hammett

by Richard Layman

$13.95$19.50

In stock online

Not available in stores

The Hunter and Other Stories
The Hunter and Other Stories

by Dashiell Hammett

$13.59$16.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

Shop this author
Title:Discovering The Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade: The Evolution of Dashiell Hammett's Masterpiece…Format:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 10 × 7 × 0.85 inPublished:September 7, 2005Publisher:Vince Emery ProductionsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0972589864

ISBN - 13:9780972589864

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Discovering The Maltese Falcon and Sam Spade: The Evolution of Dashiell Hammett's Masterpiece, Including John Huston's Movie with Humphrey Bogart

Reviews

Editorial Reviews

"Includes just about everything you always wanted to know . . . and about a zillion other treasures. The perfect gift for fans."  —ThrillingDetective.com