Dividing Eden by Joelle CharbonneauDividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau

Dividing Eden

byJoelle Charbonneau

Hardcover | June 6, 2017

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$16.49 online 
$21.99 list price save 25%
Earn 82 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

From the author of the New York Times bestselling The Testing trilogy comes a sweeping new fantasy series, perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sarah J. Maas.

Twins Carys and Andreus were never destined to rule Eden. With their older brother next in line to inherit the throne, the future of the kingdom was secure.

But appearances—and rivals—can be deceiving. When Eden’s king and crown prince are killed by assassins, Eden desperately needs a monarch, but the line of succession is no longer clear. With a ruling council scheming to gain power, Carys and Andreus are faced with only one option—to take part in a Trial of Succession that will determine which one of them is worthy of ruling the kingdom.

As sister and brother, Carys and Andreus have always kept each other safe—from their secrets, from the court, and from the monsters lurking in the mountains beyond the kingdom’s wall. But the Trial of Succession will test the bonds of trust and family.

With their country and their hearts divided, Carys and Andreus will discover exactly what each will do to win the crown. How long before suspicion takes hold and the thirst for power leads to the ultimate betrayal?

About The Author

Joelle Charbonneau has performed in opera and musical theater productions across Chicagoland. She is the author of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling Testing trilogy, as well as two adult mystery series. Her YA books have appeared on the Indie Next List and on the YALSA Top Ten Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers li...
The Testing
The Testing

by Joelle Charbonneau

$12.82$13.99

In stock online

Available in stores

The Testing Trilogy Complete Box Set
The Testing Trilogy Complete Box Set

by Joelle Charbonneau

$43.24$69.99

In stock online

Not available in stores

Need
Need

by Joelle Charbonneau

$13.99

In stock online

Available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:Dividing EdenFormat:HardcoverDimensions:336 pages, 9 × 6 × 1.09 inPublished:June 6, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:006245384X

ISBN - 13:9780062453846

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of Dividing Eden

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Something different A book that is really unpredictable, you really can't go wrong with this great book, especially if you're tired of the same old 'generic' storyline. I highly recommend this bok
Date published: 2017-09-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dividing Eden This is a promising start to a new fantasy series.
Date published: 2017-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fast-paced and Enjoyable Comparisons are a popular for describing books right now, it seems. It can be an extraordinarily helpful tool to find interesting books in a genre or to find other stories of a similar style. In Dividing Eden case, I'd perhaps describe it as a more nuanced Red Queen mixed with the spectacular Conquerer's Saga. Dividing Eden's style is similar to Kiersten White's Conquerer's Saga: dual narratives of a brother and sister in alternating chapters. It's a simple technique but one I find myself enjoying every time it appears. In this book, Andreus and Carys are royal twins in their late teens, each with their own secrets and motivations. I found them both deeply appealing, particularly late in the book as they both start to fracture under the physical and emotional impact of the book's events. And boy, do the events of the story really pack a punch. Dividing Eden comes at you fast and hard, delivering more than enough information to piece together the complexity of Eden's society on top of obstacles like murder, assassinations, politics, drugs, and (off-page) sex. I found myself able to get a pretty clear picture of what Joelle Charbonneau intended, envisaging a complicated world lit by wind power. There is very little romance in Dividing Eden - thank goodness, as it would have felt forced and distracted from more important storylines - but what little exists is very straight and very white. In fact, it's unclear if queerness or people of colour even exist in Eden. To others, that might not be a problem or even something they noticed at all, but to me, it's a failure in world-building. Overall, I really enjoyed it and am eagerly anticipating the next book, even if it's a long ways away.
Date published: 2017-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from such a great book had suspense, great characters; all round really fabulous
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Siblings Turned Rivals *I received an advanced reader copy of this book from Indigo Books & Music Inc. in exchange for an honest review* #indigoemployee Dividing Eden tells the tale of two siblings who are forced to fight in a series of competitions in order to win the kingdom and the crown. I loved one of the main characters, Carys, as she is a strongly written female lead who protects her loved ones at all cost. She is blunt, driven and determined to do the right thing. The ending of Dividing Eden was very suspenseful, and I will be picking up the next installment to see how it is continued. There is also a hint of magic at the end and I am interested to see how it will be developed throughout the rest of the story. Perfect for fans of Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake and The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye. *This book examines the hardships and dangers surrounding substance abuse and addiction, while briefly touching on mental health.
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fast-Paced and Engaging Dividing Eden is the first in a new series by Joelle Charbonneau, author of the bestselling Testing Trilogy. Set to release on June 6th, 2017, Dividing Eden is an engaging new fantasy series, sure to be enjoyed by fans of Victoria Aveyard’s Red Queen series, among others. (DISCLAIMER: I received an advenced reader copy of Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau from HarperTeen in exchange for an honest review). I wasn’t sure what the expect from Dividing Eden – the premise seemed a bit goofy to me, but I am always willing to give anything that qualifies at YA Fantasy a try. I am glad that I did, because Dividing Eden definitely impressed, despite minor flaws. I very much enjoyed Carys and Andreus’ characters. As individuals, Carys and Andreus were well drawn, engaging characters, who, despite the constant comparison between them, maintained their individuality throughout the novel. The two begin fiercely loyal to one another, despite their secrets and resentment. Carys has spent her entire life defending her brother from the threat of a forgotten prophecy and a mysterious illness. Hardened by the hardships and punishments she has faced to keep her brother safe in a cruel household, Carys has few allies and even fewer friends, not to mention a dangerous addiction to a mysterious painkiller. Andreus has spent years hiding his illness for fear of a prophecy spoken to his mother before his birth, but unlike his sister, this secret has not hardened him. Andreus is a ladies man, with a dangerous attraction to his brother’s former fiance. He’s wickedly smart, but his illness limits his athleticism, putting him at risk from attacks at all sides, and at risk for exposure. Furthermore, the quick-paced action of the plot kept the story engaging. Carys and Andreus were constantly engaged in espionage, challenges and a battle of wills, making for an engrossing plot that simply flew by. In particular, the clandestine nature of the “villains” was very interesting to me – I liked that not everyone who had a hand in the death of the king and crown prince was revealed, leaving some lingering questions for the next book in this series! However, the dissolution of Carys and Andreus’s relationship – while necessary to the plot, the reasons behind the dissolution of their relationship felt goofy and forced, especially after Charbonneau had previous built the twins relationship up to be some unshakable. And then has the simplest jealousy shake it to its core, as if it never had any stability in the first place (which it must have, for the two to do the things they had done for one another). Finally, The Trial of Succession between the twins felt overly contrived and goofy – especially the first competition. I don’t know what I expected, but that wasn’t it. Overall, Dividing Eden by Joelle Charbonneau is a solid, well-written start to a new series from a strong author. The plot was engaging and fast-paced, making for an interesting read. Carys and Andreus were strong protagonists, balanced by equally powerful antagonists veiled in shadows. Overall, Dividing Eden is definitely worth the read (3.5/5).
Date published: 2017-02-16

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“A fast-paced read that teens antsy to untangle the mystery will devour...hand to teens looking for a thought-provoking, timely thriller.”