Do You Want To Be My Friend? by Eric CarleDo You Want To Be My Friend? by Eric Carle

Do You Want To Be My Friend?

byEric CarleIllustratorEric Carle

Paperback | March 1, 1987

Pricing and Purchase Info

$8.50

Earn 43 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

This classic tale of friendship tracks a small gray mouse's search for the perfect pal. He asks various animals the same question: "Do you want to be my friend?" But it's not until he meets another mouse that he is answered with a heartwarming "Yes!"

Fans of The Secret Birthday Message and The Mixed-Up Chameleon will delight in this ingenious picture book by Eric Carle. Do You Want to Be My Friend? was selected as an ALA Notable Children's Book, a Library of Congress Children's Book Pick, and a Book World Spring Book Festival Honor Book. It supports the Common Core State Standards.

Eric Carle is the creator of more than seventy picture books for young readers. Eric Carle was born in New York, USA. However, when he was just six, he moved with his parents to Germany. In 1952, after graduating from the prestigious Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Stuttgart, he fulfilled his dream of returning to New York.Eric Carle ...
Loading
Title:Do You Want To Be My Friend?Format:PaperbackDimensions:40 pages, 8 × 10 × 0.1 inPublished:March 1, 1987Publisher:HarperCollins

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0064431274

ISBN - 13:9780064431279

Appropriate for ages: 3 - 5

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charming As usual Carle's visuals are as captivating and simply in line with the unexpected. It is almost as if his art competes with his storyline and both always win out. A real treat, this book plays on the theme of "tag" and a "guessing game" as a piece of the tail end of each animal is presented before turning the page. A tiny mouse wants to find a friend to have all of its own and comes to understand that it cannot be friends with every creature and vice versa.
Date published: 2014-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charming As usual Carle's visuals are as captivating and simply in line with the unexpected. It is almost as if his art competes with his storyline and both always win out. A real treat, this book plays on the theme of "tag" and a "guessing game" as a piece of the tail end of each animal is presented before turning the page. A tiny mouse wants to find a friend to have all of its own and comes to understand that it cannot be friends with every creature and vice versa.
Date published: 2014-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Friendly Book for Young Minds As always, Eric Carle's books are well illustrated. This book presents illustrations that draw in any young reader to the adventure. The text is simple and understandable to the young mind. The story line serves as a useful tool to discuss issues of "same and different" with your child. However, it is not of the same caliber as Carle's other books such as the Hungry Caterpillar and Brown Bear, Brown Bear... I recommend this book as part of any child's library, but if your finances are limited, purchase the other two books mentioned.
Date published: 2009-08-26

From Our Editors

This classic tale of friendship tracks a small gray mouse's search for the perfect pal. He asks various animals the same question. "Do you want to be my friend?" But it's not until he meets another mouse that he is answered with a heartwarming "Yes!" Full color. ALA Notable Children's Books of 1940-1970; "School Library Journal" Best of the Best Children's Books.

Editorial Reviews

"Each page of this ingenious, all but wordless picture book affords surprise, suspense, and repeated pleasure for the viewer." (ALA Booklist)