Documents of Native American Political Development: 1500s to 1933 by David E. WilkinsDocuments of Native American Political Development: 1500s to 1933 by David E. Wilkins

Documents of Native American Political Development: 1500s to 1933

EditorDavid E. Wilkins

Hardcover | February 13, 2009

Pricing and Purchase Info

$123.75 online 
$137.50 list price save 10%
Earn 619 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 1-3 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


The arrival of European and Euro-American colonizers in the Americas brought not only physical attacks against Native American tribes, but also further attacks against the sovereignty of these Indian nations. Though the violent tales of the Trail of Tears, Black Hawk's War, and the Battle ofLittle Big Horn are taught far and wide, the political structure and development of Native American tribes, and the effect of American domination on Native American sovereignty, have been greatly neglected. This book contains a variety of primary source and other documents--traditional accounts, tribal constitutions, legal codes, business councils, rules and regulations, BIA agents reports, congressional discourse, intertribal compacts--written both by Natives from many different nations and somenon-Natives, that reflect how indigenous peoples continued to exercise a significant measure of self-determination long after it was presumed to have been lost, surrendered, or vanquished. The documents are arranged chronologically, and Wilkins provides brief, introductory essays to each document,placing them within the proper context. Each introduction is followed by a brief list of suggestions for further reading. Covering a fascinating and relatively unknown period in Native American history, from the earliest examples of indigenous political writings to the formal constitutions crafted just before the American intervention of the Indian Reorganization Act of 1934, this anthology will be an invaluableresource for scholars and students of the political development of indigenous peoples the world over.
David Wilkins is McKnight Presidential Professor of American Indian Studies at the University of Minnesota. He is the author and editor of more than ten books on indigenous politics and governance, including American Indian Politics and the American Political System (2007). Wilkins is a citizen of the Lumbee tribe of North Carolina.
Title:Documents of Native American Political Development: 1500s to 1933Format:HardcoverDimensions:624 pages, 9.25 × 6.13 × 0.98 inPublished:February 13, 2009Publisher:Oxford University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:019532739X

ISBN - 13:9780195327397


Table of Contents

AcknowledgmentsList of Native PeoplesList of Documents by SubjectIntroductionDocuments:1. Great Law of Peace, Gayanashagowa (1000--1525?)2. Laws of Praying Town Indians (1646)3. Laws of the Cherokee Nation (1808-1817)4. The Criminal Code of Tenskwatawa (Shawnee Prophet) (1805?)5. Laws of the Creek Nation (1817-1824)6. Cherokee Constitution (1827)7. Description of Winnebago Government by Caleb Atwater, U.S. Commissioner (1829)8. Laws of the Nez Perce (1844)9. Constitutional Ordinance of the Seneca Nation (1845)10. Constitution of the Seneca Nation of Indians (1848)11. Organization of A New Indian Territory, by George Copway (1850)12. Ottawa Laws (1850)13. Constitution of the "Government by Chiefs" of the Seneca Nation of Indians (1854)14. Chickasaw Nation Constitution (1856)15. Stockbridge and Munsee Tribe Articles of Union and Confederation (1857)16. "Proclamation" of Neutrality by John Ross, Principal Chief of the Cherokee Nation (1861)17. Laws of the Delaware Nation (1866)18. Winnebago Tribe Laws and Regulations (1868)19. Okmulgee Constitution (1870)20. Howard White, U.S. Indian Agent for the Winnebago Agency (1872)21. John S. Wood, U.S. Indian Agent for the Blackfeet Agency (1875)22. J .L. Burchard, U.S. Indian Agent for the Round Valley Reservation (1876)23. Alex G. Irvine, Navajo Indian Agency (1877)24. Objectives of the Indian Delegation to a Bill Authorizing an "Indian Delegate" to the U.S. House of Representatives (1878)25. W. Bird, Agent of the Fort Peck Indian Agency (1878)26. Benjamin M. Thomas, Agent at the Pueblo and Abiquiu Agencies (1879)27. John Young, Agent at Blackfeet Agency (1879)28. Henry R. Mallory, Agent at Colorado River Agency (1879)29. J. A. Stephen, Agent at Standing Rock Agency (1880)30. P. B. Hunt, Agent at Kiowa, Comanche, and Wichita Agency (1880)31. Constitutions of the Osage Nation (1861, 1881)32. Laws of the Osage Nation (1882)33. P. B. Sinnett, Agent at Grande Ronde Agency (1884)34. Benjamin W. Thompson, Agent at Sisseton Agency (1884)35. Sisseton-Wahpeton Constitution (1884)36. Constitution of the Sac and Fox Nation (1885)37. Robert L. Owen, Agent at the Union Indian Agency (1886)38. Compact Between the Several Tribes Constituting the International Council in Indian Territory (1886)39. Laws of the Pamunkey Indian Town (1886 or 1887)40. Charles E. McChesney, Agent at the Cheyenne River Agency (1887)41. Robert L. Owen, Agent at the Union Agency (Chickasaw people in Indian Territory) (1888)42. Robert L. Owen, Agent at the Union Agency (Multiple tribes in Indian Territory) (1888)43. Charter of the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians (1889, with amendments adopted in 1895 and 1897)44. Constitution of the Menominee Tribe of Indians (1892)45. Amended Constitution of the Seneca Nation of Indians (1893)46. Muscogee Creek Nation Constitution (1894)47. Dew M. Wisdom, Agent at the Union Agency, Indian Territory (1896)48. A.E. Woodson, Acting Agent at Cheyenne and Arapaho Agency (1897)49. Pima Constitution (1901 or 1902)50. Acts and Resolutions of the General Council of the Choctaw Nation (1904)51. Menominee Constitution (1904)52. Constitution of the State of Sequoyah (1906)53. Unwritten Laws of the Apache (1906)54. Laws, By-Laws, and Constitution of the Pueblo of Laguna (1908)55. Right of Indians to Nominate Their Agent or Superintendent (1912)56. Rules and Regulations for Annette Islands Reserve (1915)57. Constitutions of the Rosebud Sioux (1916, 1920, and 1924)58. Alaska Native Brotherhood Constitutions of Grand and Subordinate Camps (1917-1918)59. Constitution of the Red Lake Band of Anishinaabe (1918)60. Yurok Laws (1919)61. Western Shoshone Constitution (1919)62. Constitution of the Oglala Tribal Council (1921)63. Assiniboine and Gros Ventre of Ft. Belknap Constitution (1921)64. By-Laws of the Crow Indians (1922)65. Constitution of the Cheyenne River Sioux Indians (1923)66. Constitution and By-Laws of the Menominee Indians (1924)67. Duwamish Constitution (1925)68. Constitution and By-Laws of the Oglala Tribal Council (1928)69. Constitution and By-Laws of the Klamath Business Committee (1929)70. Governance Within the White Mountain Apache (1929)71. Trustees of the Puyallup Tribe (1929)72. Northern and Southern Pueblo Governance (1929)73. Klamath Indian Corporation (1930)74. Constitution and By-Laws of the Flathead Business Committee (1930)75. Kiowa, Comanche, and Apache Council Resolutions and Petitions (1930)76. Makah Constitutional Discussion (1931)77. Indian Tribal Councils Act (1932)78. Removal of Certain Bureau of Indian Affairs Employees (1932)79. Yankton Sioux Constitution (1932)80. Concerns of the Western Shoshone Nation (1932)81. Proposed Organization of the Tribal Advisory Committee of the Prairie Band of Potawatomie of Kansas (1932)82. Constitution of the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians (1932)83. Constitution of the Hopi Council of New Oraibi (1933)84. Constitution of the Oglala Sioux Tribe (1933)85. Constitutions of the Camp McDowell Indians of Arizona (1933)86. Constitution and By-Laws of the Hoopa Business Council (1933)Appendix 1: Selected Internet SitesNotesBibliographic EssayIndex