Dove Arising

Paperback | January 5, 2016

byKaren Bao

not yet rated|write a review
Fans of Ender's Game and The Maze Runner will love this smart sci-fi debut and its sequel, Dove Exiled!

Phaet Theta’s Plan: Live peacefully in the lunar colony, work hard, become a scientist, and enjoy a quiet future off the government’s radar. Then her mother is arrested.
 
The New Plan: Enlist in the militia, learn everything she can from top trainee Wes, and become the youngest Militia Captain in history so she can save her family. It all seems perfect. Until Phaet’s logically ordered world begins to crumble…

* With all-new Q&A and Playlist from Karen Bao! *
 

“Fans of The 5th Wave, Divergent, and Legend will love this smart, futuristic thriller.”—Justine

“Bao writes a brilliant new YA heroine in a world of true science fiction.”—Bustle.com

“Fans of Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game…should flock to this well-written debut.”—SLJ

Pricing and Purchase Info

$13.99

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

Fans of Ender's Game and The Maze Runner will love this smart sci-fi debut and its sequel, Dove Exiled! Phaet Theta’s Plan: Live peacefully in the lunar colony, work hard, become a scientist, and enjoy a quiet future off the government’s radar. Then her mother is arrested.   The New Plan: Enlist in the militia, learn everything she can...

Karen Bao (karenbao.com) is a writer, musician, and aspiring scientist. She has a brother three years younger than her and a violin sixty years older than her. Born in California and raised in New Jersey, she currently studies environmental biology at college in New York City. Karen began writing Dove Arising at the age of seventeen. F...

other books by Karen Bao

Dove Alight
Dove Alight

Kobo ebook|May 23 2017

$12.99

Ascendente
Ascendente

Kobo ebook|Nov 5 2015

$9.29 online$12.07list price(save 23%)
Dove Exiled
Dove Exiled

Kobo ebook|Feb 23 2016

$9.99

see all books by Karen Bao
Format:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8.5 × 5.4 × 0.87 inPublished:January 5, 2016Publisher:Penguin Young Readers GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0147512433

ISBN - 13:9780147512437

Customer Reviews of Dove Arising

Reviews

Extra Content

Read from the Book

Mom opens her rough, dry lips for the first time. “Just wait,” she rasps to me.  Of course I’ll wait for her to come back. My siblings and I have never gone a day without seeing her. Now she’ll be away for at least two months. The officers drag Mom out of our home. Struggling against them with the remainder of her strength, she kicks Tinbie by accident. He topples over, clicks twice and powers off. The yellow radiance vanishes from his eyes. Before the group passes through the doors, Mom gives me a hard stare, her dreamer’s eyes bloodshot. “You’ve always been ready for this,” she says. Then she’s gone.

Editorial Reviews

“Karen Bao is an incredibly talented young writer. Beautiful prose and one of the most interesting main characters I've read. Dove Arising marks the debut of a promising new talent. I loved the story, and I can't wait to read more!” —Christopher Paolini, New York Times bestselling author of Eragon“Newcomer Bao’s off-world setting and world-building details are intriguing.”—Publishers Weekly  "Characters are well developed, especially strong-willed Phaet, and an even pace will keep teens turning pages. Fans of Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game, Veronica Roth’s Divergent and Marie Lu’s Legend should flock to this well-written debut effort by 19-year-old Bao." —School Library Journal"Until just recently, the number of formidable young adult authors who got published before they were out of their teens was extremely small: Christopher Paolini and Isamu Fukui. Well, it is time to make room for a third name in this elite list: Karen Bao." —VOYA“The 20-year-old Bao writes a brilliant new YA heroine in a world of true science fiction.” —Bustle.com   “Phaet is a compelling, ‘do what needs doing’ kind of girl, and her desperation to succeed and secure her family’s future is palpable…Revelations at the end pave the way for a sequel.”—Booklist.com   “Fans of The 5th Wave, Divergent, and Legend will love this smart, futuristic thriller.” —Justine