Dove Arising

Paperback | January 5, 2016

byKaren Bao

not yet rated|write a review
Fans of Ender's Game and The Maze Runner will love this smart sci-fi debut and its sequel, Dove Exiled!

Phaet Theta’s Plan: Live peacefully in the lunar colony, work hard, become a scientist, and enjoy a quiet future off the government’s radar. Then her mother is arrested.
 
The New Plan: Enlist in the militia, learn everything she can from top trainee Wes, and become the youngest Militia Captain in history so she can save her family. It all seems perfect. Until Phaet’s logically ordered world begins to crumble…

* With all-new Q&A and Playlist from Karen Bao! *
 

“Fans of The 5th Wave, Divergent, and Legend will love this smart, futuristic thriller.”—Justine

“Bao writes a brilliant new YA heroine in a world of true science fiction.”—Bustle.com

“Fans of Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game…should flock to this well-written debut.”—SLJ

Pricing and Purchase Info

$13.98 online
$13.99 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

Fans of Ender's Game and The Maze Runner will love this smart sci-fi debut and its sequel, Dove Exiled! Phaet Theta’s Plan: Live peacefully in the lunar colony, work hard, become a scientist, and enjoy a quiet future off the government’s radar. Then her mother is arrested.   The New Plan: Enlist in the militia, learn everything she can...

Karen Bao (karenbao.com) is a writer, musician, and aspiring scientist. She has a brother three years younger than her and a violin sixty years older than her. Born in California and raised in New Jersey, she currently studies environmental biology at college in New York City. Karen began writing Dove Arising at the age of seventeen. F...

other books by Karen Bao

Dove Alight
Dove Alight

Hardcover|May 23 2017

$23.98 online$23.99list price
Dove Exiled
Dove Exiled

Hardcover|Feb 23 2016

$21.52 online$23.99list price(save 10%)
Exiliada
Exiliada

Kobo ebook|Apr 14 2016

$7.69 online$9.99list price(save 23%)
see all books by Karen Bao
Format:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8.5 × 5.4 × 0.87 inPublished:January 5, 2016Publisher:Penguin Young Readers GroupLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0147512433

ISBN - 13:9780147512437

Customer Reviews of Dove Arising

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Intriguing and Imaginative YA SCIFY Thriller! "Dove Arising" an intriguing futuristic science-fiction thrill-ride is set on Lunar Base IV one of the moon bases humanity fled to after the ice cap melted flooding the Earth, resources including oil depleted, and civil wars broke out. In Greenhouse 22 fifteen year old Phaet Theta works as Gardener Assistant dreaming of becoming a bioengineer until disaster strikes and her mother is arrested for "Disruptive Print" an offence that could mean a death sentence if proven guilty. Rather than live with her two younger siblings in the disease and degradation of the "Shelter" Phaet enlists in the Militia struggling to be first in the brutal training program; a placement that could provide the money to free her mother and save her sister and brother from starvation. But the competition is fierce, her only help from an unlikely alliance with the inscrutable Wezn (Wes) Kappa. Innovative and imaginative Karen Bao creates a policed society on the moon that's intolerant, oppressive and governed by an autocratic Council who will say anything to stay in power. In this bleak and dark atmosphere Phaet joins the Militia, an organization whose high-ranked officers are heartless and cruel, putting down any kind of disturbance or perceived insurrection with the Electrostun, a weapon that can electrocute a child. In fast-paced, action-packed story reminiscent of Ender's Game and Divergent, Phaet and Wes struggle to be first in a training regime that makes them targets for a bully and his girlfriend, a knife slashing, friendly fire and failed ambushes. The tension and suspense escalate as the plot heats up when Phaet not only faces her final test and placement, but her mother's trial is slated to be heard. As events unfold they progress quickly and smoothly to a confrontation at the end that begs for a sequel. In this story there's an undercurrent of deep affection in the devotion between Phaet and her best friend Umbriel whose friendship is comfortable and trusting, although promises have not been spoken nor their future planned. Yet it is the emotional connection between Phaet and Wes that arouses interest as they try to deny the strong feelings that have begun to stir. It will be interesting to see how this develops. Like all good stories it's the personalities of its characters who make it a page-turner by infusing energy, realism and passion into the drama. "Dove Arising" is no exception with forgettable characters like Phaet (Stripes) Theta the young teen with gray hair and a smooth face whose dutiful, competitive and solitary as she grapples with a grueling training regime. Highly intelligent, but struggling with the loss of her father and questioning her mother's arrest she demonstrates leadership and bravery as she faces each new challenge. In contrast Umbriel Phi is intense, loyal and protective, caring for Phaet's siblings while she's away but is not as strong a personality as Wes Kappa a mysterious loner who's level-headed, daring, resourceful and perceptive. Yet it's the sinister, saccharine tone of the ambitious, backstabbing Callisto Chi and the reckless vindictiveness of the "Giant", the bully Jupiter along with the callousness of the Militia hierarchy that adds a menacing chill to the story. "Dove Arising" is an exciting and intoxicating first novel by Karen Bao. I rate it highly and can't wait to see where she takes the story next.
Date published: 2016-02-21

Extra Content

Read from the Book

Mom opens her rough, dry lips for the first time. “Just wait,” she rasps to me.  Of course I’ll wait for her to come back. My siblings and I have never gone a day without seeing her. Now she’ll be away for at least two months. The officers drag Mom out of our home. Struggling against them with the remainder of her strength, she kicks Tinbie by accident. He topples over, clicks twice and powers off. The yellow radiance vanishes from his eyes. Before the group passes through the doors, Mom gives me a hard stare, her dreamer’s eyes bloodshot. “You’ve always been ready for this,” she says. Then she’s gone.

Editorial Reviews

“Karen Bao is an incredibly talented young writer. Beautiful prose and one of the most interesting main characters I've read. Dove Arising marks the debut of a promising new talent. I loved the story, and I can't wait to read more!” —Christopher Paolini, New York Times bestselling author of Eragon“Newcomer Bao’s off-world setting and world-building details are intriguing.”—Publishers Weekly  "Characters are well developed, especially strong-willed Phaet, and an even pace will keep teens turning pages. Fans of Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game, Veronica Roth’s Divergent and Marie Lu’s Legend should flock to this well-written debut effort by 19-year-old Bao." —School Library Journal"Until just recently, the number of formidable young adult authors who got published before they were out of their teens was extremely small: Christopher Paolini and Isamu Fukui. Well, it is time to make room for a third name in this elite list: Karen Bao." —VOYA“The 20-year-old Bao writes a brilliant new YA heroine in a world of true science fiction.” —Bustle.com   “Phaet is a compelling, ‘do what needs doing’ kind of girl, and her desperation to succeed and secure her family’s future is palpable…Revelations at the end pave the way for a sequel.”—Booklist.com   “Fans of The 5th Wave, Divergent, and Legend will love this smart, futuristic thriller.” —Justine