Dr. Thorndyke Collection( 7 Works ): Detective Stories Collection by R. Austin Freeman

Dr. Thorndyke Collection( 7 Works ): Detective Stories Collection

byR. Austin Freeman

Kobo ebook | February 2, 2014

Pricing and Purchase Info


Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores


Dr. John Evelyn Thorndyke is a fictional detective in a long series of novels and short stories by British author R. Austin Freeman. Thorndyke was described by his author as a 'medical jurispractitioner': originally a medical doctor, he turned to the bar and became one of the first — in modern parlance — forensic scientists. His solutions were based on his method of collecting all possible data (including dust and pond weed) and making inferences from them before looking at any of the protagonists and motives in the crimes. It is this method which gave rise to one of Freeman's most ingenious inventions, the inverted detective story, where the criminal act is described first and the interest lies in Thorndyke's subsequent unravelling of it.


This book is contained 7 works of R. Austin Freeman: 

The Red Thumb Mark

John Thorndyke's Cases

The Eye of Osiris

The Mystery of 31 New Inn

The Singing Bone

A Silent Witness

Helen Vardon's Confession

Title:Dr. Thorndyke Collection( 7 Works ): Detective Stories CollectionFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:February 2, 2014Publisher:Unsecretbooks.comLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:


Look for similar items by category: