Dragon Springs Road: A Novel by Janie ChangDragon Springs Road: A Novel by Janie Chang

Dragon Springs Road: A Novel

byJanie Chang

Paperback | January 10, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$20.55 online 
$22.99 list price save 10%
Earn 103 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

“Filled with enchantment and intrigue” (Toronto Star) and “a great choice for a book club” (The Huffington Post), Dragon Springs Road takes readers on an evocative journey a century in the past and half a world away.

In early-twentieth-century Shanghai, an ancient imperial dynasty collapses, a new government struggles to life and two girls are bound together in a friendship that will be tested by duty, honour and love.

Abandoned in the courtyard of a once-lavish estate outside Shanghai, seven-year-old Jialing learns she is zazhong—Eurasian—and thus doomed to face a lifetime of contempt from both Chinese and Europeans. The Yang family, new owners of the estate, reluctantly take her in as a servant. As Jialing grows up, her only allies are Anjuin, the eldest Yang daughter, and Fox, an animal spirit who has lived in the courtyard for more than three hundred years. But when a young English girl appears and befriends the lonely orphan—and then mysteriously vanishes—Jialing’s life takes an unexpected turn.

As Jialang grows into womanhood during the tumultuous early years of the Chinese republic, she must find a way to survive political intrigue, jealousy, forbidden love and even murder. Through every turn she is guided, both by Fox and by her own strength of spirit, away from the shadows of her past toward a very different fate. “Rich with detail and a fascinating interplay between the spiritual and earthly realms, Chang’s second novel explores whether it is possible to overcome your past” (Booklist).

 

Title:Dragon Springs Road: A NovelFormat:PaperbackDimensions:384 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.96 inPublished:January 10, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1443439371

ISBN - 13:9781443439374

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fascinating story! DRAGON SPRINGS ROAD by Janie Chang is a captivating and fascinating story! I love these sorts of books - historical fiction with fantastic elements. While the content is different, this is definitely for fans of THE GHOST BRIDE and THE GOLEM AND THE JINNI. I'm very excited to read Chang's other novel THREE SOULS.
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful Oh my gosh I am glad I picked up this book...for me it started a bit slow but then I got into it and the last quarter was wonderful in its story, descriptions and writing. I really liked the element that Fox brought to the story. I look forward to reading other books by this author.
Date published: 2017-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Will Read This Repeatedly Definitely one of my favourite books I've read this year! The cover caught my eye and I didn't know what type of novel I was getting myself into but it is absolutely enticing and whimsical. My love for historical fiction has grown. In a sense this novel just resonated so well with me. I will definitely go back to it on my own time and read it again!
Date published: 2017-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I need more! This is my second novel by Janie Chang. I loved her first novel so much I decided to read this one. The writing style is very similar, and this is an equally awesome story. I loved this more than the first one. Can't wait for her next one.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding I was completely absorbed in this book from start to finish. I'twas beautifully written and the character development plus the setting within a historical context made it a pleasure to read. I will pick up her previous novel next. I am glad I stumbled upon this book. Time well spent.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great read This book was a great read. The story flowed easily and was hard to put down. It tells the story of a young woman who overcame insurmountable odds of the time period and culture in which she lives.
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great book I loved Janie Chang's first book and could not wait to read this one and it didn't disappoint. Got it from the library first, then immediately bought it as I knew I'd read it again. Really interesting historical fiction, and very well written, not predictable. Loved the characters and how the story unfolded. Can hardly wait for the next one
Date published: 2017-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Historical Fiction I had the chance to read this book through the HCC First Look program, where they gave me an advanced copy in exchange for an honest review. Janie Chang wrote Dragon Springs Road in such a way that allowed the story to flow without snags in understanding. The voice of the protagonist truly shines in each word as the story progresses. Dragon Springs Road is a tumultuous journey from the first page to the last. It will not disappoint.
Date published: 2016-11-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Beautifully Written Story! Janie Chang’s latest novel, Dragon Springs Road is an tremendously original story sharing the journey of a young orphaned girl, who despite her Eurasian background, is determined to both survive and build a future for herself. Set in early 1900’s in China, when the Imperial rule was ending and the Republic of China was being formed, Janie Chang weaves a lyrically stunning tale of Jialing’s childhood and upbringing juxtaposed with the political unrest that left the Chinese people reeling for many years. As a 7-year-old Jialing finds herself abandoned and alone in the only home she’s ever known, she resolves to endure what she must so that one day she will be able to search out her beloved mother. Meeting many colorful and complicated characters along the way, including a mischievous Fox Spirit as her teacher and guide, the Yang family who take her in as a bond servant, and the young Yang daughter Anjuin, her first true friend, Jialing grows from a sheltered and naïve child, to become an educated and resolute young woman. Following Jialing along her complicated and mysterious life, leaves you rooting for her to beat the odds and find success on her own terms – despite her zahzong heritage. Chang creates such a vibrant, full world with her beautiful storytelling, allowing the reader to fully immerse themselves in the landscapes and characters. Writing with such remarkable detail and descriptions so magnificent that you find yourself feeling and seeing all that Jialing does, Dragon Springs Road is a literary work of art that should be on the very top of any book lovers “must read” pile for 2017.
Date published: 2016-11-08

Editorial Reviews

[ Three Souls bristles with freshness and heart.