The Eagles' Brood: A Dream Of Eagles Book Iii by Jack WhyteThe Eagles' Brood: A Dream Of Eagles Book Iii by Jack Whyte

The Eagles' Brood: A Dream Of Eagles Book Iii

byJack Whyte

Mass Market Paperback | May 3, 2005

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.71 online 
$11.99 list price
Earn 59 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


Born of the chaos of the Dark Ages, the Dream of Eagles produced a king, a country and an everlasting legend—Camelot


Most know him as Merlyn; all call him Commander. Caius Merlyn Britannicus is responsible for the safety of the colony known as Camulod, and for the welfare of the colonists who look to him for guidance, leadership, justice and salvation. Uther Pendragon, the man who will father the legendary Arthur, is the cousin Merlyn has known and loved since their births—four hours apart on the same day, the year the legions left Britain. As different as can be, they are inseparable: two faces of the same coin. In a world torn apart by warfare and upheaval, each is the other’s certainty until a vicious crime—one that strikes at the roots of Merlyn’s own life—drives a wedge between them.

Jack Whyte was born and raised in Scotland and has lived in Canada since 1967. He has been an actor, orator, singer, poet, and businessman at various stages of his life, and he holds an honorary doctorate of letters for his contribution to Canadian popular fiction. A resident of Kelowna, British Columbia, he is the author of the intern...
Title:The Eagles' Brood: A Dream Of Eagles Book IiiFormat:Mass Market PaperbackDimensions:672 pages, 7.01 × 4.25 × 1.48 inPublished:May 3, 2005Publisher:Penguin Canada

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0140170480

ISBN - 13:9780140170481

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favourite books I bought this years ago and still love it today. I really enjoyed the imaginative and realistic way that Whyte describes the Arthurian legend. Every book in this series is worth the read.
Date published: 2018-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One of my favourite in the series I enjoy the depth of the characters.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't put down Just like the first two books,you can't put down,Jack Whyte has a knack of making it seem you are there and you know the characters. Don't start reading if you have chores to do.
Date published: 2013-04-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disastrous The story was harder to get into this time and (SPOILER ALERT!!!!) they killed off all my fav characters it had lots of action and plot which i think is what saved me from throwing it away and my compulsion to finish any book no matter how bad but i don't plan to read further into the series.
Date published: 2009-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply Brilliant! This book as well as the previous two are amazing, I am very much a fan of the Arthurian tale and both Jack Whyte and Bernard Cornwell have masterfully crafted their own take of the legend. This series title after title has set the bar higher and I am extremely stoked to start the next installment "The Saxon Shore" This plot keeps you second guessing, thinking, plotting, trying to make sense of chaos and its brilliant! Things are seldom obvious and events that may have seemed inconsequential come back to make serious changes in the world of both Uther and Caius Merlyn Britannicus. Awesome book 5 Maple Leaf Rating! a must read!
Date published: 2009-02-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ¡¡Favorite of the Series!! Jack Whyte's writing could never dissapoint! This is (in my opinion) the best book in the series but they're all wonderful. His skillful use of history when writing fiction makes the reader feel as if their reading the true account of King Arthur and Camelot!
Date published: 2008-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Book i've ever read! I've always been an arthurian fan, but none of the other arthurian books i've ever read come even close to this series. Jack Whyte tells the story of arthur unlike any other author out there! A very good series and i'd strongly recommend reading it! But don't start with this book, start with "The Skystone".
Date published: 2001-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from of course it's magnificent!! Of course this book is magnificent! It was written by Jack Whyte, Vancouver's best authour (in my own opinion). I've read all of his books, and enjoyed them all through and through. If you're going to read these magnificent pieces of literature, You should start with the first, "The Skystone". READ AWAY!!
Date published: 2001-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent!! As a great fan of Arthurian liturature for many years, the Dream of Eagles series is undoubtedly the single best piece of historical fiction that I have ever read of the Arthurian theme. The detail and fluid prose hilight the strength of the storyline and Whyte truely makes the legend believable in a way few authors have done before. A must read for any lover of Arthuriana or historical fiction!!
Date published: 2000-07-04

From Our Editors

Enter the exciting and dangerous world of the Dark Ages in The Eagles' Brood, the third volume of Jack Whyte's best-selling fantasy series A Dream of Eagles. Follow the adventures of Caius Merlyn Britannicus, or Merlyn, as we know him, as he tries to protect the fledgling colony of Camulod in a world ripped apart by war and upheaval. Merlyn's beloved cousin Uther Pendragon will someday be the father of the legendary Arthur, but a vicious crime strikes a wedge between the two cousins.

Editorial Reviews

"Whytemakes the reader think, Yes, this is the way it could have been ...[He] has taken the time to build the Arthurian legend piece by pieceand make it come alive." —TheLeader-Post (Regina)"[A] work of élanand exuberance ... Whyte spins a tale so rich in detail that a legendis defrocked." —CalgaryHerald"Written with intelligence anda fine eye for detail ... strong storytelling and a wealth ofswashbuckling action ... Fascinating." —TheGlobe and Mail