Dream Of Eagles #4 The Saxon Shore by Jack WhyteDream Of Eagles #4 The Saxon Shore by Jack Whyte

Dream Of Eagles #4 The Saxon Shore

byJack Whyte

Mass Market Paperback | May 3, 2005

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 60 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 1-2 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


Born of the chaos of the Dark Ages, the Dream of Eagles produced a king, a country and an everlasting legend—Camelot

The orphaned baby Arthur—heir to the Colony of Camulod and born with both Roman heritage and the royal blood of the Hibernian Scots and the Celtic Welsh—has been adopted by his cousin Caius Merlyn Britannicus. Merlyn is now the sole custodian of the great dream of his ancestors: that of independent survival in Britain amid the ruins of the imperial Roman world. He is also the keeper of Excalibur, the wondrous sword crafted by his great-uncle Publius Varrus. It is up to Merlyn to teach the young Arthur all that he needs to know to unify the diverse clans of Britain under his kingship. And it is Merlyn’s laborious responsibility to see that the young Arthur survives the deadly threats to this destiny—threats that arise from the bloody Saxon shore.

Jack Whyte was born and raised in Scotland and has lived in Canada since 1967. He has been an actor, orator, singer, poet, and businessman at various stages of his life, and he holds an honorary doctorate of letters for his contribution to Canadian popular fiction. A resident of Kelowna, British Columbia, he is the author of the intern...
Title:Dream Of Eagles #4 The Saxon ShoreFormat:Mass Market PaperbackPublished:May 3, 2005Publisher:Penguin Canada

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0140170472

ISBN - 13:9780140170474

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but longer Felt hard to make it through but still good to follow the overall story.
Date published: 2016-11-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Three in one I found this to really be three shorter stories wrapped in one big volume. A good read, but I would prefer three smaller books to read than one-I-Have-to-finish-in-one-shot book. Leave it to Jack Whyte to pull something like that. Still had its good moments.
Date published: 2009-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amazing The Saxon Shore is the fourth book in the Camulod series by Jack Whyte. The saga of Camulod--founded by the descendants of those brave Romans who forged a new way of life for Celt and Roman together after the departure of the Legions--continues as Arthur is born and orphaned into the care of Merlyn. Here, under Merlyn's tutelage, he grows into manhood and ever closer to his destiny as High King of all Britain.
Date published: 2006-08-02

Editorial Reviews

“Whyte... is creating a reality so detailed in [TheSaxon Shore] that the readercomes to believe it must be true. But he is also creating a fiction soextraordinary that it resonates with the feel of myth." —TheStatesman“Whyte’sdescriptions, astonishingly vivid, of this ancient and mystical eraring true, as do his characters, who include a number of strong women.Whyte shows why Camulod was such a wonder, demonstrating time and againhow persistence, knowledge and empathy can help push back the darknessof ignorance to build a shining future." —PublishersWeekly“An entertaining andthoughtful view of Britain’s Dark Age politics and society."—The Globe and Mail