Dream Of Eagles #5 Vol 2 The Sorcerer Metamorphosis: Metamorphosis by Jack WhyteDream Of Eagles #5 Vol 2 The Sorcerer Metamorphosis: Metamorphosis by Jack Whyte

Dream Of Eagles #5 Vol 2 The Sorcerer Metamorphosis: Metamorphosis

byJack Whyte

Mass Market Paperback | October 1, 1998

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.56 online 
$11.99 list price
Earn 58 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Out of stock online

Available in stores


Born of the chaos of the Dark Ages, the Dream of Eagles produced a king, a country and an everlasting legend—Camelot

In The Sorcerer: Metamorphosis , Merlyn returns to Camulod with his young charge, Arthur. But there is little time to enjoy their homecoming. Peter Ironhair’s ambitions are once again threatening peace in Britain, and soon Merlyn and Arthur must ride into battle to defend their land from both Ironhair and invaders from across the sea. While Arthur is a soldier, he is not yet a leader of men. Merlyn sends him to live for a time among his father’s people to gain the wisdom essential to rule them. Spurred on by a hunger for vengeance that will only be satisfied by the death of his enemies, Merlyn begins his metamorphosis into the Sorcerer, enlisting perhaps the only force that can bring down Ironhair and his allies once and for all.


Jack Whyte was born and raised in Scotland and has lived in Canada since 1967. He has been an actor, orator, singer, poet, and businessman at various stages of his life, and he holds an honorary doctorate of letters for his contribution to Canadian popular fiction. A resident of Kelowna, British Columbia, he is the author of the intern...
Title:Dream Of Eagles #5 Vol 2 The Sorcerer Metamorphosis: MetamorphosisFormat:Mass Market PaperbackDimensions:544 pages, 7.02 × 4.27 × 1.21 inPublished:October 1, 1998Publisher:Penguin CanadaLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0140270264

ISBN - 13:9780140270266

Look for similar items by category:


Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Return to Greatness If you read my review of the first book in this series within a series entitled "The Sorceror: the Fort at River's Bend" you know that I was not all that impressed with it. This second effort, and sixth overall in the series "A Dream of Eagles", makes up for the lack of punch missing in River's Bend. Merlyn, his family, and especially Arthur all undergo tremendous change, thus the subtitle "Metamorphosis", under the most extreme pressures imaginable. This novel both shocked and surprised me as the author readily killed off some of the characters who have been with Merlyn since the beginning of his journey to crown the High King of Britain. Quite simply, it was hard to put this book down once I knew that anything could happen. A great piece of historical fiction and of the Arthurian legend.
Date published: 2010-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from History at its best! In Whyte's 5th novel of his Arthurian saga Merlyn seeks a safe refuge from Camulod where he can raise the 8 year old Arthur and train him for manhood. Accompanied by the characters we've met in earlier books, Connor, Danuil, Ambrose and Lucanus the physician, Merlyn makes a pact with Derek of Ravenglas to use an old, abandoned Roman fort as his and Arthur's safe haven. Whyte recreates the ancient Roman fort, located in what is now the Lake District of England, in all its detail. This is historical fiction at its best, we can see the fort laid out by Roman military design, the stone highway leading from Ravenna, and the barracks as if we were standing in Roman Britain. Merlyn keeps Arthur and his entire party safe in their mountain refuge while the boy grows in age and wisdom. And of course, Excalibur the sword is with Merlyn, though hidden from all, waiting its time when the future king of Britain will take it up to lead his peoples.
Date published: 2001-01-29