Drowned Ammet (the Dalemark Quartet, Book 2) by Diana Wynne JonesDrowned Ammet (the Dalemark Quartet, Book 2) by Diana Wynne Jones

Drowned Ammet (the Dalemark Quartet, Book 2)

byDiana Wynne Jones

Paperback | January 31, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$10.14 online 
$12.99 list price save 21%
Earn 51 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores


The second book in the magical, epic fantasy-adventure series from 'the Godmother of Fantasy', Diana Wynne Jones. Now back in print!For centuries, Dalemark has been a land divided by the warring earldoms of the North and South. Now, with the help of the Undying, the mysterious gods of Dalemark, four extraordinary young people must join forces to reunify their beloved land.After his father mysteriously goes missing Mitt joins a group of freedom fighters plotting to overthrow the tyrannical ruler of Holand. But when his assassination attempt against the earl backfires, Mitt stows away on board a ship heading out to sea. As the boat is battered by storms Mitt finds himself alone among his enemies - except for the strange straw figure of Dalemark demigod Drowned Ammet tied to the prow of the ship.
Diana Wynne Jones (1934-2011) spent her childhood in Essex and began writing fantasy novels for children in the 1970s. With her unique combination of magic, humour and imagination, she enthralled generations of children and adults with her work. She won the Guardian Award in 1977 with Charmed Life, was runner-up for the Children's Book...
Title:Drowned Ammet (the Dalemark Quartet, Book 2)Format:PaperbackDimensions:368 pagesPublished:January 31, 2017Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0008170657

ISBN - 13:9780008170653


Rated 4 out of 5 by from Be Patient Yes, this one takes longer to get to the action. There's much more build-up than in Cart and Cwidder, and the magic isn't obvious at first. The fantasy creeps up on you, starting as folk stories and traditions. Perhaps you could say that it rather swells like a wave and then crashes against the shore... Drowned Ammet, as indicated by the title, has some bleak moments, but we are never totally without hope, or a helping hand. It's satisfying, but also leading up to something Big. I love how petty and rude the characters are, and how sometimes it's intentional, but other times it's just the clashing of two very different experiences who /want/ to understand but don't have the means. All in all, very good, full of depth, and worth reading.
Date published: 2018-08-26

Editorial Reviews

PRAISE FOR DIANA WYNNE JONES:".Her hallmarks include laugh-aloud humour, plenty of magic and imaginative array of alternate worlds. Yet, at the same time, a great seriousness is present in all of her novels, a sense of urgency that links Jones's most outrageous plots to her readers' hopes and fears."Publishers Weekly"The best writer of magic there is"Neil Gaiman"Truly magical - guaranteed to leave you gasping - even hotter than Potter"The BooksellerPRAISE FOR HOWL'S MOVING CASTLE:"Imaginative and terribly funny "Michael MorpurgoThe Telegraph - 100 Best Books a Child Should Read"Wit and humor glint from the pages"The Horn Book