Dumplin'

Dumplin'

Hardcover | September 15, 2015

byJulie Murphy

not yet rated|write a review

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine—self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson—from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine—Dumplin’ is guaranteed to steal your heart.

Dubbed “Dumplin’” by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked . . .  until Will takes a job at Harpy’s, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn’t surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.  

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant—along with several other unlikely candidates—to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does. Along the way, she’ll shock the hell out of Clover City—and maybe herself most of all.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.10 online
$21.99 list price (save 17%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

Dumplin'

Hardcover | September 15, 2015
In stock online Available in stores
$18.10 online $21.99 (save 17%)

From the Publisher

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine—self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson—from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine—Dumplin’ is guaranteed to st...

From the Jacket

Self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson (dubbed "Dumplin'" by her former beauty queen mom) has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked . . . until Will takes a job at Harpy...

Julie Murphy lives in North Texas with her husband who loves her, her dog who adores her, and her cats who tolerate her. When she's not writing or trying to catch stray animals, Julie can be found in a library smelling old books and manning the reference desk.

other books by Julie Murphy

Side Effects May Vary
Side Effects May Vary

Paperback|Jul 14 2015

$11.50 online$12.50list price(save 8%)
Miss Dumplin
Miss Dumplin

Paperback|May 2 2016

$27.95

Dumplin'
Dumplin'

Paperback|Mar 14 2017

$11.12 online$12.50list price(save 11%)
see all books by Julie Murphy
Format:HardcoverDimensions:384 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.21 inPublished:September 15, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062327186

ISBN - 13:9780062327185

Customer Reviews of Dumplin'

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was Good I thought it was very cute but I found the characters actions confusing in some parts. Also, there were some parts too awkward for me to fully understand what was happening. I did enjoy the premise and halfway through I enjoyed reading it. LOVED THE ENDING.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super cute! Well that was cute. The beginning didn't fully pull me in but I was hooked by the middle. Caught myself laughing out loud a few times at Will's mishaps or witty thoughts. Loved the Dolly Parton incorporation into everything. Quick and easy fun read.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable, bright and vibrant Being a festively plump individual, read fat- I am always weary when a novel features an equally festive heroine/character, as more often that not, said character is played for pity and without power. Dumplin is not one of those novels. It is engaging, empowering and thoroughly enjoyable. Our lead, Willowdean, is no down in the dumps individual, she shares the same insecurities as the rest of us and learns to empower herself through whom and what she is. If you are looking for a fun, empowering read, this is for you.
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dumplin' I really liked this book. It is cleverly written from the perspective of someone who isn't a perfect teen girl with flowing hair and a million boys throwing themselves all over her who does see life as more than a field of daisies (sometimes, though, I can be overly critical). It's a nice change from many other YA novels. I like the growth and development of several relationships, not just one.
Date published: 2016-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Reviews from Book Nerd Canada I went into Dumplin' thinking it was going to give me this cute romance with a character who didn't care about her weight. Where she develops an iron heart from all the bullies and then needs a boy's life to unravel it all. That's obviously me just sprouting out wishful plot devices but what I got, it wasn't exactly what I was expecting. Willow is very judgmental about other girls and the comments she would say about others really bothered me. I thought she could take the high ground and not let anything or anyone get in her way and she does that. But she does it in a way where she steamrolls the people that she loves. Namely her mother, best friend and love interest. I couldn't understand it. She was always mad at everyone! And she would try to justify it so she would always be in the right. I was hoping for her to grow and mature by the end, but I wasn't feeling it. I like how the main focus wasn't on the romance. There was a lot of important relationships that included her mother and her best friend that I was interested in reading about. I just felt like Willow was always just mad at everyone and she was blaming them all instead of changing her viewpoint. Maybe that was the entire goal though? If it was I missed it. There's a lot of empowerment about being true to yourself and do things that you normally wouldn't do, but in the end, I just didn't really care about her because she rubbed me the wrong way. Overall, I would still recommend this to people looking for a good read. In my opinion, I wasn't too keen on the main character but that could always change for others. Wonderful developed character relationships form an intriguing read, but all other parts felt flat for me.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from INDIGO STAFF PICKS says you need to be reading this..... If you are looking for a strong female heroine, then look no further then Willowdean Dickson. She is all that and a bag of chips or should I say red candy suckers. We can all take a page out of Willowdean’s body playbook. Bikini Body, well you have a body so put a bikini on it…voila …. The ideal bikini body curves and all. If only we could all feel so comfortable I our skin. It isn’t until she begins to date heartthrob Bo does she begin to see herself through a less then flattering filter. What’s a curvy girl to do…Enter the Teen Miss Blue Bonnet pageant of course. Now add in a Dolly Parton soundtrack and you have yourself an amazing read. Do yourself and your inner Willowdean a favour and read this book. I did and enjoyed every minute of it.
Date published: 2015-10-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Indigo Staff Pick Dolly Parton enthusiast Willowdean Dickson or Dumplin’ as her mom calls her – is about to shake things up by entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant. Willow has curves and she’s okay with that. But after she starts dating Bo the boy of her dreams, she starts to feel insecure about her appearance, and what others think of them together – her former Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Queen mother included. Now Willowdean is out to make a point that she is beautiful and perfect just the way she is. This book is such a cute and endearing read! I really liked Willowdean’s character, she was so easy to relate to, and I think a lot of people will read Dumplin’ and find that they’ve felt like Willowdean once or twice before. Dumplin’ will make you laugh out loud, and give you all the feels at the same time. A must read for fans of Rainbow Rowell!
Date published: 2015-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing This is just a lovely, lovely book. I couldn't put it down. Willowdean is such a wonderful character who anyone would love to have as their friend.
Date published: 2015-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely, sweet, funny and true. I wish I could have read this book when I was a teenager. I’m so glad that it exists now. Far too many girls (and hell, grown-ass women like myself) will recognize Willowdean’s insecurities, and it’s absolutely vital–lifesaving, even–that they see her courage. I hope readers find her story as inspiring and heartwarming as I did.
Date published: 2015-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best YA Novel of the Year So Far I just finished an advanced reading copy of Dumplin’ and absolutely loved it. It made me giddy. It made me smile like a lunatic, laugh out loud, and brush away the odd tear. I found myself regularly hugging the book to my chest and sighing. This story will speak to anyone who has ever felt like an outsider. Anyone who has ever been discriminated against because of their race, sexuality, size, or gender. Those of us who know what it’s like to hesitate because of labels (most, I would imagine). How it feels to hesitate going after what we really want because of the limitations in our mind. Texan teen Willowdean Dickson is the new poster girl for loving yourself and embracing who you are. There is so much truth and honesty in Julie Murphy's storytelling – family bonds, friendship, young love, body image, and so much more is explored. To say it's an inspiring read sells it short – it was truly a joy and a story I will cherish.
Date published: 2015-06-30

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: “An unexpected twist on the typical cancer story.”