Dumplin'

Dumplin'

Hardcover | September 15, 2015

byJulie Murphy

not yet rated|write a review

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine—self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson—from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine—Dumplin’ is guaranteed to steal your heart.

Dubbed “Dumplin’” by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked . . .  until Will takes a job at Harpy’s, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn’t surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.  

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant—along with several other unlikely candidates—to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does. Along the way, she’ll shock the hell out of Clover City—and maybe herself most of all.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.12 online
$21.99 list price (save 17%)
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

Dumplin'

Hardcover | September 15, 2015
In stock online Available in stores
$18.12 online $21.99 (save 17%)

From the Publisher

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine—self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson—from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine—Dumplin’ is guaranteed to st...

From the Jacket

Self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson (dubbed "Dumplin'" by her former beauty queen mom) has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked . . . until Will takes a job at Harpy...

Julie Murphy lives in North Texas with her husband who loves her, her dog who adores her, and her cats who tolerate her. When she's not writing or trying to catch stray animals, Julie can be found in a library smelling old books and manning the reference desk.

other books by Julie Murphy

Ramona Blue
Ramona Blue

Hardcover|May 9 2017

$19.60 online$21.99list price(save 10%)
Side Effects May Vary
Side Effects May Vary

Paperback|Jul 14 2015

$11.51 online$12.50list price(save 7%)
Desert Animal Adaptations
Desert Animal Adaptations

Perfect|Aug 1 2011

$8.94 online$10.95list price(save 18%)
see all books by Julie Murphy
Format:HardcoverDimensions:384 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.21 inPublished:September 15, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062327186

ISBN - 13:9780062327185

Customer Reviews of Dumplin'

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: “An unexpected twist on the typical cancer story.”