Dumplin'

Paperback | March 14, 2017

byJulie Murphy

not yet rated|write a review

#1 New York Times Bestseller

For fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell, and Sarah Dessen comes this powerful novel with a fearless heroine—self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson—from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine, Dumplin’ is guaranteed to steal your heart.

Dubbed “Dumplin’” by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked...until Will takes a job at Harpy’s, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn’t surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.  

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Clover City beauty pageant—along with several other unlikely candidates—to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any girl does. Along the way, she’ll shock the hell out of Clover City—and maybe herself most of all.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.12 online
$12.50 list price (save 11%)
Pre-order online
Ships free on orders over $25

From the Publisher

#1 New York Times BestsellerFor fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell, and Sarah Dessen comes this powerful novel with a fearless heroine—self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson—from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable ...

From the Jacket

With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, and Dolly Parton songs, Dumplin’ isguaranteed to steal your heart.Self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson (dubbed “Dumplin’” by her former beauty queen mom) has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-A...

Julie Murphy's debut contemporary young adult novel, Side Effects May Vary, is out from Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins and was well-received by Kirkus, School Library Journal, VOYA, Booklist, Seventeen Magazine, and Teen Vogue. Dumplin', Julie's sophomore novel has received glowing reviews including two stars from Publishers Weekly, Bookl...

other books by Julie Murphy

Dumplin'
Dumplin'

Hardcover|Sep 15 2015

$18.10 online$21.99list price(save 17%)
Side Effects May Vary
Side Effects May Vary

Paperback|Jul 14 2015

$11.50 online$12.50list price(save 8%)
Miss Dumplin
Miss Dumplin

Paperback|May 2 2016

$27.95

see all books by Julie Murphy
Format:PaperbackDimensions:400 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.9 inPublished:March 14, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062327194

ISBN - 13:9780062327192

Customer Reviews of Dumplin'

Reviews

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: “An unexpected twist on the typical cancer story.”