Dumplin' by Julie MurphyDumplin' by Julie Murphy

Dumplin'

byJulie Murphy

Paperback | March 14, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$7.99 online 
$12.50 list price save 36%
Earn 40 plum® points
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

This beloved novel, a #1 New York Times bestseller, will soon be a major motion picture starring Danielle Macdonald and Jennifer Aniston.

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine—self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson—from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary.

With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine—Dumplin’ is guaranteed to steal your heart.

Dubbed “Dumplin’” by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked . . .  until Will takes a job at Harpy’s, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn’t surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.  

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant—along with several other unlikely candidates—to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does.

Along the way, she’ll shock the hell out of Clover City—and maybe herself most of all.

Julie Murphy's debut contemporary young adult novel, Side Effects May Vary, is out from Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins and was well-received by Kirkus, School Library Journal, VOYA, Booklist, Seventeen Magazine, and Teen Vogue. Dumplin', Julie's sophomore novel has received glowing reviews including two stars from Publishers Weekly, Bookl...
Loading
Title:Dumplin'Format:PaperbackDimensions:400 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.9 inPublished:March 14, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062327194

ISBN - 13:9780062327192

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not so bad 3.5/5 This book wasn't as bad as I expected it to be. I don't know that it did body image struggles justice but it definitely didn't disgrace it. Some of what was mentioned is very relevant whether or not you consider yourself large or small. My expectations were low and this book definitely exceeded my expectations. Definitely YA.
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Powerful Powerful read with great points.
Date published: 2017-08-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wasn't Really A Fan I read this one last year but it didn't really live up to my expectations of it. It was empowering at times but then annoying at others. The first time reading this I gave it a 3/5 but then I tried to read it again this week, and it just isn't for me.
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Empowering A great little empowering story of a Texas high school fat girl with plans of entering the local beauty pageant. The writing was so easy that I just gobbled this book up
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay There were parts that I really loved but other parts that didn't wow me. Overall it was good and I'm glad that I read it.
Date published: 2017-03-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay. I enjoyed Side Effects May Vary much more than this book. It wasn't for me.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An Okay Read I thought this book was entertaining at times. This book was recommended to me by a friend and I am glad I read it. #plumreview
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely, sweet, funny and true. I wish I could have read this book when I was a teenager. I’m so glad that it exists now. Far too many girls (and hell, grown-ass women like myself) will recognize Willowdean’s insecurities, and it’s absolutely vital–lifesaving, even–that they see her courage. I hope readers find her story as inspiring and heartwarming as I did.
Date published: 2015-09-13

Editorial Reviews

Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: “An unexpected twist on the typical cancer story.”