Dumplin' by Julie MurphyDumplin' by Julie Murphy

Dumplin'

byJulie Murphy

Paperback | March 14, 2017

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.33 online 
$12.50 list price save 9%
Earn 57 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

This beloved novel, a #1 New York Times bestseller, will soon be a major motion picture starring Danielle Macdonald and Jennifer Aniston.

For fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell comes this powerful novel with the most fearless heroine—self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson—from Julie Murphy, the acclaimed author of Side Effects May Vary.

With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine—Dumplin’ is guaranteed to steal your heart.

Dubbed “Dumplin’” by her former beauty queen mom, Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American-beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked . . .  until Will takes a job at Harpy’s, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn’t surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.  

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Teen Blue Bonnet Pageant—along with several other unlikely candidates—to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does.

Along the way, she’ll shock the hell out of Clover City—and maybe herself most of all.

Julie Murphy's debut contemporary young adult novel, Side Effects May Vary, is out from Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins and was well-received by Kirkus, School Library Journal, VOYA, Booklist, Seventeen Magazine, and Teen Vogue. Dumplin', Julie's sophomore novel has received glowing reviews including two stars from Publishers Weekly, Bookl...
Loading
Title:Dumplin'Format:PaperbackDimensions:400 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.9 inPublished:March 14, 2017Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062327194

ISBN - 13:9780062327192

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Fresh, fun, and empowering. Everyone can learn a lesson from this book.
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only problem was that it was too short Fun and empowering and human. I've seen some reviews saying that Willowdean isn't a likeable character or that she does nothing to be a good friend to those who are good to her. She's not perfect, but she's human. She admits when she's wrong and how her insecurities have led her to hurt other people. That's a huge thing and she shows bravery and vulnerability in admitting that to others and trying to do better. I can't think of a better heroine.
Date published: 2018-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from really good I became a pretty big fan of Julie Murphy promptly after reading Ramona Blue. I thought that book was just so wonderful so I decided to pick up this one. I had heard great things about this book so I was excited to read it. Though this book was very unique told by a very powerful narrator, I didn't like it nearly as much as I like Ramona Blue. I still highly recommend this book to all my friends but Ramona Blue was much better.
Date published: 2018-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Fun Beauty Pageant Story I was actually pleasantly surprised with this book. I gave it a go because it was available from the library, and a contemporary sounded like something nice to listen to, and was pleased with what I found.  I loved the characters in this book, especially the main character. She was proud of her body and herself, but still had the insecurities you'd expect from a teenager. I found the other ladies in this book to be fantastic as well. I found the guys to be pretty generic and I kept mixing them up, but that was fine. They weren't as important for this book. I liked the idea of using a beauty pageant for the story. It was a nice change of pace from other contemporaries I've read, and having only seem them on television, it was interest to get a bit more detail about what they're like. I wish there had been a little more description or explanation for some of the pageant- or Texas-specific traditions, because I had to google a few things when I got home, which was annoying while listening to the audiobook.  All in all, this book wasn't bad. It wasn't my favourite contemporary ever, and I doubt I'd pick it up again, but I'd be curious to pick up the sequel that's coming out sometime in the near future. If you like beauty pageants (or are at all curious about them), great leading characters, or Dolly Parton, you should check out Dumplin'!
Date published: 2018-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid Read. This book has its flaws - no doubt about that. But, I loved a main character who actually said things, meaning she actually stood up for herself, most of the time. I've read so many novels wherein the main character is some hushed, quiet, and obedient girl, and their best friend is the fiery, outspoken and wild one. Snooze. The characters were fun to read about. I didn't like the ending. And I wish the book was longer.
Date published: 2018-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Fav! This is such an important read with great fat-rep in it! Willow dean was a very inspirational main character and I really enjoyed reading from her POV!
Date published: 2018-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from ok This story is so important and I would love to see more like it involving this content!!!
Date published: 2017-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great book! Definitely a worthwhile read!
Date published: 2017-10-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved it Interesting read, definitely a novel I will read again.
Date published: 2017-10-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not so bad 3.5/5 This book wasn't as bad as I expected it to be. I don't know that it did body image struggles justice but it definitely didn't disgrace it. Some of what was mentioned is very relevant whether or not you consider yourself large or small. My expectations were low and this book definitely exceeded my expectations. Definitely YA.
Date published: 2017-10-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Powerful Powerful read with great points.
Date published: 2017-08-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wasn't Really A Fan I read this one last year but it didn't really live up to my expectations of it. It was empowering at times but then annoying at others. The first time reading this I gave it a 3/5 but then I tried to read it again this week, and it just isn't for me.
Date published: 2017-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Empowering A great little empowering story of a Texas high school fat girl with plans of entering the local beauty pageant. The writing was so easy that I just gobbled this book up
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay There were parts that I really loved but other parts that didn't wow me. Overall it was good and I'm glad that I read it.
Date published: 2017-03-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay. I enjoyed Side Effects May Vary much more than this book. It wasn't for me.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An Okay Read I thought this book was entertaining at times. This book was recommended to me by a friend and I am glad I read it. #plumreview
Date published: 2017-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely, sweet, funny and true. I wish I could have read this book when I was a teenager. I’m so glad that it exists now. Far too many girls (and hell, grown-ass women like myself) will recognize Willowdean’s insecurities, and it’s absolutely vital–lifesaving, even–that they see her courage. I hope readers find her story as inspiring and heartwarming as I did.
Date published: 2015-09-13

Editorial Reviews

Praise for SIDE EFFECTS MAY VARY: “An unexpected twist on the typical cancer story.”