Dying To Sin (cooper And Fry Crime Series, Book 8) by Stephen BoothDying To Sin (cooper And Fry Crime Series, Book 8) by Stephen Booth

Dying To Sin (cooper And Fry Crime Series, Book 8)

byStephen Booth

Paperback | May 6, 2008

Pricing and Purchase Info

$9.90 online 
$10.99 list price save 9%
Earn 50 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

HURRY, ONLY 1 LEFT!
Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

Detectives Fry and Cooper return in another supremely atmospheric Peak District thriller, perfect for fans of Peter Robinson and Reginald HillBuilding work at an isolated farm has unearthed more than just the usual remains. two human are discovered, seemingly buried years apart.With little forensic evidence to go on, Detectives Diane Fry and Ben Cooper have to look back into the farm's history, where they uncover decades of abuse of migrant workers. Is the truth to be found somewhere in this piteous history?Or does the answer lie elsewhere, hidden in the ground, and still waiting to be discovered?
Stephen Booth was born in the Lancashire mill town of Burnley and has remained rooted to the Pennines during his career as a newspaper journalist. He lives with his wife Lesley in a former Georgian dower house in Nottinghamshire and his interests include folklore, the Internet and walking in the hills of the Peak District. This is the ...
Loading
Title:Dying To Sin (cooper And Fry Crime Series, Book 8)Format:PaperbackDimensions:560 pagesPublished:May 6, 2008Publisher:HARPERCOLLINS PUBLISHERSLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0007243448

ISBN - 13:9780007243440

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Gripping Thriller! This story was like a fine wine that gets better with age. The further along I read into this book the better it got, so stay with it. Stephen Booth takes a while to set this up, so after ten chapters I was wondering whether to continue, but I'm so glad I did. This is a terrific crime thriller involving detectives Fry and Cooper, and their search for what happened on a isolated farm after the discovery of not one by two unknown bodies. The last quarter of this story, was a real page turner. I did feel a bit of a disconnect with the main characters Fry and Cooper, because of not fully understanding their own story lines at times. Since this is my first time reading a book by this author, I see now that these two detectives are in his other books, so I will have to catch up by picking up his previous books. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2011-05-04

Editorial Reviews

Praise for Dying to Sin:'Clever, intricate plot. Cooper is an ascendant Lewis to Fry's lonely, bitter Morse in this. gripping procedural' Financial TimesPraise for Scared to Live:'It's easy to see why Stephen Booth's novels are so popular. The Peak District's awesome scenery is an ideal background for a murder or two; he has developed his two principal characters into rounded personalities and he always gives them an intriguing mystery to investigate' Sunday Telegraph'A modern master of rural noir' Guardian'Booth's aim is to portray the darkness that lies below the surface. in this he succeeds wonderfully well' Daily Mail'Ingenious plotting and richly atmospheric' Reginald HillPraise for Stephen Booth:'Stephen Booth creates a fine sense of place and atmosphere . the unguessable solution to the crime comes as a real surprise' Sunday Telegraph'The complex relationship between [Cooper and Fry] is excellently drawn, and is combined with an intriguing plot and a real sense of place: Stephen Booth is an author to keep an eye on' Evening Standard'Stephen Booth makes high summer in Derbyshire as dark and terrifying as midwinter' Val McDermid'Sinks its teeth into you and doesn't let go . A dark star may be born!' Reginald Hill'A leading light of British crime writing' Guardian'Best traditional crime novel of the year' Independent