Edith Wharton: The Contemporary Reviews by James W. TuttletonEdith Wharton: The Contemporary Reviews by James W. Tuttleton

Edith Wharton: The Contemporary Reviews

EditorJames W. Tuttleton, Kristin O. Lauer, Margaret P. Murray

Paperback | January 20, 2010

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 444 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


This book represents the first comprehensive collection of contemporary reviews of the writing of Edith Wharton from the 1890s until her death in 1937. Many of the reviews are reprinted from hard-to-locate contemporary newspapers and periodicals. In addition, lists of other reviews not presented here are provided. These materials document the response of the reviewers to specific titles and indicate the development of Wharton's reputation as a novelist, short story writer, travel writer, and autobiographer.
Title:Edith Wharton: The Contemporary ReviewsFormat:PaperbackDimensions:588 pages, 9.21 × 6.14 × 1.18 inPublished:January 20, 2010Publisher:Cambridge University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0521126789

ISBN - 13:9780521126786

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

Series editor's preface; Introduction; A note on the selections; Acknowledgements; The Decoration of Houses (1897); The Greater Inclination (1899); The Touchstone (1900); Crucial Instances (1901); The Valley of Decision (1902); Sanctuary (1903); The Descent of Man and Other Stories (1904); Italian Villas and their Gardens (1904); Italian Backgrounds (1905); The House of Mirth (1905); Madame de Treymes (1907); The Fruit of the Tree (1907); The Hermit and the Wild Woman and Other Stories (1908); A Motor-flight Through France (1908); Artemis to Actaeon and Other Verse (1909); Tales of Men and Ghosts (1910); Ethan Frome (1911); The Reef (1912); The Custom of the Country (1913); Fighting France: From Dunkerque to Belfort (1915); Xingu and Other Stories (1916); The Book of the Homeless (1916); Summer (1917); The Marne (1918); French Ways and their Meaning (1919); The Age of Innocence (1920); In Morocco (1920); The Glimpses of the Moon (1922); A Son at the Front (1923); Old New York (1924); The Writing of Fiction (1925); The Mother's Recompense (1925); Twelve Poems (1926); Here and Beyond (1926); Twilight Sleep (1927); The Children (1928); Hudson River Bracketed (1929); Certain People (1930); The Gods Arrive (1932); Human Nature (1933); A Backward Glance (1934); The World Over (1936); Ghosts (1937); The Buccaneers (1938); Index.

Editorial Reviews

"...this handsome volume will be a vital reference work for Whartonians and a major document of Anglo-American literary history." Philip Horne, Times Literary Supplement