Educated by Tara WestoverEducated by Tara Westoversticker-burst

Educated

byTara Westover

Paperback | February 20, 2018

see the collection The Best Books of the Year

Pricing and Purchase Info

$15.00 online 
$22.99 list price save 34%
Earn 75 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

For readers of The Glass Castle and Wild, a stunning new memoir about family, loss and the struggle for a better future

#1 International Bestseller and Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year

Tara Westover was seventeen when she first set foot in a classroom. Instead of traditional lessons, she grew up learning how to stew herbs into medicine, scavenging in the family scrap yard and helping her family prepare for the apocalypse. She had no birth certificate and no medical records and had never been enrolled in school.

Westover’s mother proved a marvel at concocting folk remedies for many ailments. As Tara developed her own coping mechanisms, little by little, she started to realize that what her family was offering didn’t have to be her only education. Her first day of university was her first day in school—ever—and she would eventually win an esteemed fellowship from Cambridge and graduate with a PhD in intellectual history and political thought.

 

Tara Westover is an American author, based in the U.K. She was born in Idaho in 1986 and led a sheltered childhood. Her father did not believe in public education. She worked with her parents, becoming a self-taught herbalist and midwife. She did not attend a school until age seventeen. From there, went on to graduate from Brigham Youn...
Loading
Title:EducatedFormat:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 9 × 6 × 0.88 inPublished:February 20, 2018Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1443452483

ISBN - 13:9781443452489

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Honest A beautiful account of the author’s upbringing, family loyalty, her journey beyond the world she grew up in, and the power of how a formal education changed her life.
Date published: 2019-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good I thought this was a really good book. Interesting story
Date published: 2019-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible knowledge This book is One I am very glad I read it is an eye-opener and can certainly produce very controversial discussions I very much recommend you read it for many reasons this woman’s memoirs should be heard
Date published: 2019-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it, good read Moving story...great lesson on pursuing your own believes
Date published: 2019-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best book i read in 2018 This was so good! Talented writer who is skilled at describing what abuse does to a person. Also, in spite of all she had to go through, you can tell she is not full of hatred. Lovely book.
Date published: 2019-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it A friend got this book and it wasn't her taste so she gave it to me. I couldn't put it down. Reading about Tara's upbringing was so disturbing. Her parents had a haphazard approach to parenting, that it's amazing to hear how she and Tyler were able to get their educations. It is such a riveting story.
Date published: 2019-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Shockingly Loved It I got this book by accident, but let me say i decided to read it and i didn't regret it, it's so well written and such an amazing story and it really pulls you in, i really did like this book.
Date published: 2019-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Shockingly Loved It I got this book as an accident and i have to say its very well written like i was shocked by how much i really liked this book !
Date published: 2019-02-24

Editorial Reviews

“From the very first pages, Westover’s exquisitely vivid and disarmingly honest writing drew me into a subject I hadn’t spent much time thinking about: the gift of an education.”