Elements Of Screenwriting: A Guide For Film And Television Writing

Paperback | December 1, 1996

byIrwin R. Blacker

not yet rated|write a review
In the tradition of Strunk and White's The Elements of Style, this screenwriter's guide covers writing specific to the film and television industry as well as general writing advice - truly an "Essential Guide" for the screenwriting process.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.05

Out of stock online

From Our Editors

An indispensable guide written in a clear, no-nonsense style, 'The Elements of Screenwriting' is a handy, reliable reference to the basics of writing for the screen. From devising the perfect pitch to presenting a finished work, this book coaches writers in the arts of character, plot, and dialogue development; the structure and look o...

From the Publisher

In the tradition of Strunk and White's The Elements of Style, this screenwriter's guide covers writing specific to the film and television industry as well as general writing advice - truly an "Essential Guide" for the screenwriting process.

From the Jacket

An indispensable guide written in a clear, no-nonsense style, 'The Elements of Screenwriting' is a handy, reliable reference to the basics of writing for the screen. From devising the perfect pitch to presenting a finished work, this book coaches writers in the arts of character, plot, and dialogue development; the structure and look o...

Format:PaperbackDimensions:168 pages, 8 × 5.4 × 0.04 inPublished:December 1, 1996Publisher:Pearson Education

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:002861450X

ISBN - 13:9780028614502

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Elements Of Screenwriting: A Guide For Film And Television Writing

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better Than Screenwriting Class!!! Don't under estimate the size of this book. Sure it's a light read, but everything you need to know about screenwriting is in this book. I read it before I wrote my first screenplay and it really helped me. I told writing class in film school were I bought five $100 textbooks, and had a four hour writing class every week. The only learned for those classes was that writing class in a joke. Just get this book, learn it, live it, love it.
Date published: 2001-03-07

Extra Content

Table of Contents

Part 1

1. Definitions

2. Conflict

3. Structure

4. Character

5. Exposition

6. Dialogue

 

Part 2

7. The Look of a Professional Script

8. Production Considerations

9. Other Forms and Techniques

10. The Business of Filmmaking

 

Appendix A. Writers Guild of America: Functions and Services

Appendix B. Writers Guild Agency List

Appendix C. Sample Cross-Plot and Storyboards

 

Film Index

General Index 

From Our Editors

An indispensable guide written in a clear, no-nonsense style, 'The Elements of Screenwriting' is a handy, reliable reference to the basics of writing for the screen. From devising the perfect pitch to presenting a finished work, this book coaches writers in the arts of character, plot, and dialogue development; the structure and look of a typical script; the considerations that must be addressed during production; and the complex and unnerving business of filmmaking itself.