Elizabeth Is Missing

by Emma Healey

Knopf Canada | June 10, 2014 | Kobo Edition (eBook)

Elizabeth Is Missing is rated 3.8333 out of 5 by 6.
WINNER 2014 – Costa Book Awards—First Novel 

An internationally heralded debut novel of extraordinary warmth, insight and humanity that will appeal to readers who loved The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Still Alice: Elizabeth Is Missing is at once a page-turning mystery that takes us from post-war Britain to the present day and a piercingly honest portrait of love and memory, families and aging through the lens of an unforgettable protagonist who will seize your heart--an elderly woman descending into forgetfulness, as she embarks alone on a quest to find the best friend she believes has disappeared.
     Maud, an aging grandmother, is slowly losing her memory--and her grip on everyday life. Notes fill her pockets and dot the walls of her home, increasingly crucial reminders of the immediate world. Most crucial is the fact that she can't find her only friend--Elizabeth has disappeared: she isn't answering the phone and doesn't seem to be at her house. Maud, convinced Elizabeth is in terrible danger, refuses to forget her even if her frustrated daughter, Helen, her carer, Carla, and the police won't listen and won't help. Armed with an overwhelming feeling that Elizabeth desperately needs her help, Maud sets out to find her. And, unexpectedly, her search triggers an old and powerful memory of another unsolved disappearance--that of her sister, Sukey, who vanished more than 50 years ago, shortly after the Second World War.
     As long-ago memories emerge, Maud begins to uncover forgotten clues to her sister's disappearance and to piece together the mystery that has haunted her family for decades, discovering new momentum in her search for her friend. Could the mystery of Sukey's disappearance hold the key to finding Elizabeth?


From the Hardcover edition.

Format: Kobo Edition (eBook)

Published: June 10, 2014

Publisher: Knopf Canada

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0345808320

ISBN - 13: 9780345808325

Found in: Mystery and Suspense

save 0%

  • Available for download
  • Not available in stores

$9.99  ea

$9.99 List Price


See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from A pleasure to read I enjoyed the storyline and the way this book was written. The author creatively told 2 stories by writing one in present day and the other through the main character, Maud's, memory of a time in her life from long ago. The fact that Maud is suffering from dimentia adds an interesting twist to this mystery. the story is rather slow moving but this is made up for with strong character development. Although it was sad to see Maud's dimentia progress and to witness it's impact on her everyday life and on her daughter, there were many comical moments throughout the book. I enjoyed Maud 's determination and feistiness. This book is a heart-warming, original read.
Date published: 2015-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved this book ! Got this as a Christmas gift !
Date published: 2015-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Who is Missing? I received a copy of this book as part of a GoodReads Giveaway contest. An elderly woman, Maud, cannot find her long time friend Elizabeth. She is also starting to loose her memory, but she does seem to remember that Elizabeth. The story is intertwinned with the story of her older sister who disappeared when Maud was a girl. The two stories seemed to be joined for some reason. Both mysteries are resolved at the end of the book. I enjoyed this book. I found it interesting that the author wasa able to present the point of view of someone who is loosing their memory. We can laugh at her reactions. We can also feel sadness at what she is loosing. We also get a sense of what the people around her are going through. Everyone reacts differently. I do wonder if that is what really is going through the minds of people loosing their memories. I don't really want to know for myself. I felt the character development in this book was very well done. It had to be this was a character driven plot. It did take a while for the story to play out. I recommend the book.
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this book With my own mother suffering from dementia, I found this book to be very emotional, but very well worth the read. It made me more aware of what my Mother is going through, and certainly made me more understanding of her confusion. Maud's daughter was struggling to cope with her Mother's deterioration, but that is exactly what happens to the Carer's, and their frustration is due to helplessness more than anything. This is a beautifully written book, mingling Maud's past with her present, and you can see the downward spiral of Maud's condition. I never found the book to be depressing, as you can feel the love throughout between Maud, her Daughter and Granddaughter.
Date published: 2014-10-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from confusing I thought I would really love this book but was so disappointed with it. It is very frustrating to read and I only kept reading it because I was hoping that something would happen. I do not wish to be cruel but half way through the book I totally did not care if the main character ever found Elizabeth or her sister because it was so repetitive, over and over again. No wonder the main character's daughter was so frustrated. I just do not understand why this writer thought anyone else would be less than frustrated as well.
Date published: 2014-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant debut One of the best things about my job is being asked "What have you read that's really good lately?" Well, Emma Healey's debut novel, Elizabeth is Missing, is one title I'll be recommending over and over again this summer. I really, really loved this book. Okay, you loved it Luanne, now what's it about? Maud is in her eighties and is slowly but surely losing her memory, her ability to live alone and to take care of herself. But the one thing she cannot forget is her friend Elizabeth. Maud is convinced she is missing, no matter what her daughter Helen, her carers and Elizabeth's son Peter says. She need to find her - Elizabeth is missing. Maud writes many notes to remind herself to continue to look for Elizabeth. And she does, putting herself in harm's way and her daughter at her wit's end. But there is a second narrative as well, from Maud's past as a young girl in Britain, shortly after World II has ended. Maud is an unreliable narrator. As the past and the present become tangled in Maud's memory, the reader is not quite sure of what is truth, what is memory and what is what might have been. But as I read, I had suspicions creeping in...... It is difficult to watch Maud struggle with knowing she is losing her memory. She is determined to hand on to her pride, her dignity and independence. And desperate to know what has happened to Elizabeth. Healey's writing captures Maud's frustration, the lost time and the fear so well. But Healey does inject humour into Maud's life as well. She is a feisty soul. Her daughter Helen is just as well drawn and provides a real and touching look at the difficult, often painful role of being a child and/or a carer of someone with dementia or Alzheimer's. I thought Helen's granddaughter Katy was very well written as well. She jokes and laughs with her grandmother and loves her very much. I wonder if there's a bit of Healey written into Katy. Elizabeth is missing is both a mystery and a story of lives, heartbreaking, yet life affirming. Above all, it is a brilliant read, guaranteed to grab you and not let you go, even after the last page is turned. (have a tissue handy) Part of what made this book so poignant was Healey adding in part of her life and memories, with a nod to her grandmothers, Nancy and Vera. "It was a few months after she (Nancy) died, that I began to write Elizabeth is Missing in earnest, combining the exploration of dementia prompted by Nancy with some of the stories I'd collected from Vera." As I read, I too thought often of my own grandmothers, now both passed away. And it made me love the book even more.
Date published: 2014-06-30

– More About This Product –

Kobo eBookElizabeth Is Missing

Elizabeth Is Missing

by Emma Healey

Format: Kobo Edition (eBook)

Published: June 10, 2014

Publisher: Knopf Canada

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0345808320

ISBN - 13: 9780345808325

From the Publisher

WINNER 2014 – Costa Book Awards—First Novel 

An internationally heralded debut novel of extraordinary warmth, insight and humanity that will appeal to readers who loved The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Still Alice: Elizabeth Is Missing is at once a page-turning mystery that takes us from post-war Britain to the present day and a piercingly honest portrait of love and memory, families and aging through the lens of an unforgettable protagonist who will seize your heart--an elderly woman descending into forgetfulness, as she embarks alone on a quest to find the best friend she believes has disappeared.
     Maud, an aging grandmother, is slowly losing her memory--and her grip on everyday life. Notes fill her pockets and dot the walls of her home, increasingly crucial reminders of the immediate world. Most crucial is the fact that she can't find her only friend--Elizabeth has disappeared: she isn't answering the phone and doesn't seem to be at her house. Maud, convinced Elizabeth is in terrible danger, refuses to forget her even if her frustrated daughter, Helen, her carer, Carla, and the police won't listen and won't help. Armed with an overwhelming feeling that Elizabeth desperately needs her help, Maud sets out to find her. And, unexpectedly, her search triggers an old and powerful memory of another unsolved disappearance--that of her sister, Sukey, who vanished more than 50 years ago, shortly after the Second World War.
     As long-ago memories emerge, Maud begins to uncover forgotten clues to her sister's disappearance and to piece together the mystery that has haunted her family for decades, discovering new momentum in her search for her friend. Could the mystery of Sukey's disappearance hold the key to finding Elizabeth?


From the Hardcover edition.