Elizabeth & Margaret: The Intimate World Of The Windsor Sisters

March 30, 2021|
Elizabeth & Margaret: The Intimate World Of The Windsor Sisters by Andrew Morton
$25.00 
$35.00 save 28%
Hardcover
Earn 125 plum® points
Buy Online
Ship to an address
Free shipping on orders over $35
Pick up in store
To see if pickup is available,
Buy In Store
To check store inventory,
Prices and offers may vary in store

about

Perfect for fans of The Crown, this captivating biography from a New York Times bestselling author follows Queen Elizabeth II and her sister Margaret as they navigate life in the royal spotlight.

They were the closest of sisters and the best of friends. But when, in a quixotic twist of fate, their uncle Edward Vlll decided to abdicate the throne, the dynamic between Elizabeth and Margaret was dramatically altered. Forever more Margaret would have to curtsey to the sister she called 'Lillibet.' And bow to her wishes.

Elizabeth would always look upon her younger sister's antics with a kind of stoical amusement, but Margaret's struggle to find a place and position inside the royal system—and her fraught relationship with its expectations—was often a source of tension. Famously, the Queen had to inform Margaret that the Church and government would not countenance her marrying a divorcee, Group Captain Peter Townsend, forcing Margaret to choose between keeping her title and royal allowances or her divorcee lover.

From the idyll of their cloistered early life, through their hidden war-time lives, into the divergent paths they took following their father's death and Elizabeth's ascension to the throne, this book explores their relationship over the years. Andrew Morton's latest biography offers unique insight into these two drastically different sisters—one resigned to duty and responsibility, the other resistant to it—and the lasting impact they have had on the Crown, the royal family, and the ways it adapted to the changing mores of the 20th century.
Andrew Morton studied history at the University of Sussex, England, with a focus on aristocracy and the 1930s. Morton has written extensively on celebrity including biographies of Tom Cruise, Angelina Jolie, and Madonna, as well as the British royal family. He has written bestselling biographies of the Duke and Duchess of Windsor, Prin...
Loading
Title:Elizabeth & Margaret: The Intimate World Of The Windsor Sisters
Format:Hardcover
Product dimensions:384 pages, 9.35 X 6.45 X 1.6 in
Shipping dimensions:384 pages, 9.35 X 6.45 X 1.6 in
Published:March 30, 2021
Publisher:Grand Central Publishing
Language:English
Appropriate for ages:All ages
ISBN - 13:9781538700464

Look for similar items by category:

Recently Viewed
|