Ellen Glasgow: The Contemporary Reviews by Dorothy M. ScuraEllen Glasgow: The Contemporary Reviews by Dorothy M. Scura

Ellen Glasgow: The Contemporary Reviews

EditorDorothy M. Scura

Paperback | October 1, 2009

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 444 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


This book reprints contemporaneous reviews of Ellen Glasgow's books as they were published between 1897 and 1943. Book reviews, originally printed in newspapers and other periodicals in this country and in England, tell the story of Glasgow's critical reception during her long and productive career. Nineteen novels as well as a volume of poetry, one of her short stories, and one of criticism, were published during her lifetime. Her first book, published anonymously in 1897, elicited much attention when it was revealed that the author was a young Richmond woman. By the time of the 1943 publication of her volume of literary criticism, A Certain Measure, she was a much-respected and much-honored author, winner of a Pulitzer Prize and other awards.
Title:Ellen Glasgow: The Contemporary ReviewsFormat:PaperbackDimensions:524 pages, 9.21 × 6.14 × 1.06 inPublished:October 1, 2009Publisher:Cambridge University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0521121132

ISBN - 13:9780521121132


Table of Contents

The Descendant (1897); Phases of an Inferior Planet (1898); The Voice of the People (1900); The Battle-Ground (1902); The Freeman and Other Poems (1902); The Deliverance (1904); The Wheel of Life (1906); The Ancient Law (1908); The Romance of a Plain Man (1909); The Miller of Old Church (1911); Virginia (1913); Life and Gabriella (1916); The Builders (1919); One Man in His Time (1922); The Shadowy Third and Other Stories (1923); Barren Ground (1925); The Romantic Comedians (1926); They Stooped to Folly (1929); The Sheltered Life (1932); The Old Dominion Edition of the Works of Ellen Glasgow (1929-33); Vein of Iron (1935); The Virginia Edition of the Works of Ellen Glasgow (1938); In This Our Life (1941); A Certain Measure (1943); Index.

Editorial Reviews

"All libraries serving serious students of literature should have these volumes." Q. Grigg, Choice