Empire Of Sand by Tasha SuriEmpire Of Sand by Tasha Suri

Empire Of Sand

byTasha Suri

Paperback | November 13, 2018

Pricing and Purchase Info

$19.27 online 
$20.99 list price save 8%
Earn 96 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

"Stunning and enthralling.... Empire of Sand is a gripping tale of survival I'll be recommending for a long time!" - S. A. Chakraborty, author of The City of Brass

"A darkly intricate, devastating, and utterly original story about the ways we are bound by those we love." - R. F. Kuang, author of The Poppy War

A nobleman's daughter with magic in her blood. An empire built on the dreams of enslaved gods. Empire of Sand is Tasha Suri's captivating, Mughal India-inspired debut fantasy.

The Amrithi are outcasts; nomads descended of desert spirits, they are coveted and persecuted throughout the Empire for the power in their blood. Mehr is the illegitimate daughter of an imperial governor and an exiled Amrithi mother she can barely remember, but whose face and magic she has inherited.

When Mehr's power comes to the attention of the Emperor's most feared mystics, she must use every ounce of will, subtlety, and power she possesses to resist their cruel agenda.

Should she fail, the gods themselves may awaken seeking vengeance...

Empire of Sand is a lush, dazzling fantasy novel perfect for readers of City of Brass and The Wrath & the Dawn.
Tasha Suri was born in London to Punjabi parents. She studied English and Creative Writing at Warwick University, and is now a cat-owning librarian in London. A love of period Bollywood films, history, and mythology led her to write South Asian-influenced fantasy. Find her on Twitter @tashadrinkstea.
Loading
Title:Empire Of SandFormat:PaperbackDimensions:496 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.38 inPublished:November 13, 2018Publisher:OrbitLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0316449717

ISBN - 13:9780316449717

Look for similar items by category:

Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING. AMAZING. AMAZING. I literally had the best time of my life with this book. Everything about was simply and utterly fantastic. I can’t even come up with eloquent words to talk about it because I am just sitting here at my desk gushing and gushing about how amazing this book is!!!!! Mehr is an outcast from a sheltered, privileged home. She may have noble blood, but her “barbarian” half is quite defining and she is demeaned for it. Like all lovely main characters, she makes a huge mistake (she had good intentions) and sets path on a new scary, daunting adventure. Serving a man-god, the Maha, despite her lack of faith. Her characterization was spot on. She goes from being this sneaky noble outcast, to a defiant prisoner, to a defeated prisoner and so on. I loved how cunning she was, she was smart and always, always hopeful. She had such growth, it’s not linear and she goes through many setbacks in her journey. And I love the fact that she embraces her mixed heritage whole-heartily and didn’t give one single crap about what people think of her appearance or status. Her voice was impeccable and wow Amun was almost like a polar opposite of Mehr, where she had the self-love he had a lot of self-hate. His life was tragic and he has reasons to be *that* broody. But he is such a softy and I loved how the author chose to explore his softer side Other characters…Lalita was fabulous™. Her little chapter snippets were always exciting and held much needed info to understand what was happening outside of the temple where Mehr was. The more antagonistic characters were also pretty great. The Maha was creepy and a great villain. Also, can I just mention Kalini. I won’t spoil…but damn. Everybody is calling it lush WITH GOOD REASON. I was transported every time I opened the book. I was in the palace with it’s enclosed walls and veiled women. I was in the desert with sand getting into everything. I was in the temple where life was a constant repetition of the day before. The politics. The mythology. The history. It was all so well done. Suri created this amazing atmosphere with her words. It was just so rich and full of amazing wonders. It is inspired by Mughal India and all my knowledge about that period comes is almost nothing but what I can tell you is that it is so interesting and beautiful and I would love to learn more. The Daiva. The dancing. The dreamfire. The storms. EVERYTHING. EVERYTHING. EVERYTHING WAS SO WELL DONE. I mean the magic system comes from the dreams of sleeping gods, how much more epic can it get?? I loved the rituals of the rites, the way the actual magic was performed. The writing was...Wonderful. Atmospheric. Dramatic. It was perfect for the story that it told. The romance was more than just shipping the two. It was a forced marriage that started distant until the characters befriended each other, supported one another and finally found their love. It has a powerful message about consent and choice. The importance of allowing people their moment to choose and let it be a decision made from their own heart and mind and not just because of the situation they were in. It was beautiful, I almost cried. Overall, this book was amazing. I was hooked from page one and was reeled in with every turn of the page. The world is lush, the magic is enchanting, the politics are deceptive and the romance is sweet. It’s action packed, twisty, turny and has all the good stuff! But it is undeniably a tale of hope. Hope even when the gods themselves are angry.
Date published: 2019-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bloody Brilliant and Mesmerizing Empire of Sand is a powerful tale of choices. It's been a while since I've read a fantasy novel high in intensity and so full of emotion. I loved it. Featuring an engaging plot with beautiful prose and dynamic characters Empire of Sand kept me absorbed in the world. The story flowed smoothly from one part to the next. But please proceed with caution as the plot does contain abusive situations- bloody and extremely hard to swallow ones. I only kept my head together because I knew in my heart justice would be served. Love conquers cruelty. It was an absolute pleasure to meet Mehr and to get to witness her growth. Her change from a sheltered noblewoman into a confident young lady was a most satisfying journey. I loved her faith and conviction. No matter how the Maha belittled Mehr, her choices were entirely her own. She was her own person. Amun is the ultimate love interest! His cool and calm demeanor was misunderstood as cruel and indifferent but I'm glad Mehr saw the real him. The way he treated her with the utmost respect and risked his life protecting her warmed my heart. Amun is someone I’d want by my side. It would be interesting to have a sequel story to see how the Empire fares in the aftermath of Mehr ;) A spin-off following Arwa would also be most welcome. If possible, I'd really just love to return to the world of Empire of Sand. An outstanding debut fantasy Empire of Sand is complex and diverse. Tasha Suri is definitely an author to look out for!
Date published: 2018-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favourite fantasies of the year! Turn down the volume on your speakers, friends, because I’m about to get S-C-R-E-A-M-Y. Oh Mehr. I loved her so much. SO VERY MUCH AHHHHHHH. A strong character in way that few heroines are, meaning nonviolent, Mehr would give Katniss Everdeen herself a run for her money. Jk they’d probably be best friends. But my point stands. Mehr’s toughness didn’t come from shooting an arrow in a perfect arc, or stabbing a sword into her enemy’s heart. Rather, it was her internal resolve. Mehr’s privileged upbringing didn’t change the fact that she was treated like an outsider. Kept separate from her sister and constantly told she was less-than, Merh had to look within for acceptance. No matter what others said, no matter which whispered insult passed her by, Mehr stayed true to her beliefs. Her history. Her blood. Even when she was forced into impossible situations where it would be easier to bend, there were moments she’d rather accept punishment than remain silent—a next-level type of courage and yet, only a taste of Mehr’s strength. So look, I know there are a lot of awesome fantasies out there, including a fair amount of debuts, and you may be thinking that you don’t have room in your TBR for another. To this, I say “false.” If you love fantasy, you NEED to read EMPIRE OF SAND. Like, it’s not optional. You’d be doing your brain and heart a disservice to not immerse yourself in this unbelievable tale of love, sacrifice, and determination. And I haven’t even mentioned the diversity and Indian setting, the intricate descriptions of lavish furnishings and clothing that extended all the way to spirituality and faith. In short, I am completely obsessed with EMPIRE OF SAND and have full confidence that you will be too. Five stars plus a billion stars, for a total of one billion and five stars.
Date published: 2018-11-15

Editorial Reviews

"Impressive, exciting.... Beautiful and evocative."-Fantasy Book Critic