Empire by Jeremy PaxmanEmpire by Jeremy Paxman

Empire

byJeremy Paxman

Paperback | July 31, 2012

Pricing and Purchase Info

$18.00

Earn 90 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store

Quantity:

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

From the bestselling author of The English comes Empire, Jeremy Paxman's history of the British Empire accompanied by a flagship 5-part BBC TV series, for readers of Simon Schama and Andrew Marr.

The influence of the British Empire is everywhere, from the very existence of the United Kingdom to the ethnic composition of our cities. It affects everything, from Prime Ministers' decisions to send troops to war to the adventurers we admire. From the sports we think we're good at to the architecture of our buildings; the way we travel to the way we trade; the hopeless losers we will on, and the food we hunger for, the empire is never very far away.

In this acute and witty analysis, Jeremy Paxman goes to the very heart of empire. As he describes the selection process for colonial officers ('intended to weed out the cad, the feeble and the too clever') the importance of sport, the sweating domestic life of the colonial officer's wife ('the challenge with cooking meat was "to grasp the fleeting moment between toughness and putrefaction when the joint may possibly prove eatable"') and the crazed end for General Gordon of Khartoum, Paxman brings brilliantly to life the tragedy and comedy of Empire and reveals its profound and lasting effect on our nation and ourselves.

'Paxman is witty, incisive, acerbic and opinionated . . . In short, he carries the whole thing off with panache bordering on effrontery' Piers Brendon, Sunday Times

'Paxman is a magnificent historian, and Empire may be remembered as his finest work' Independent on Sunday

Jeremy Paxman was born in Yorkshire and educated at Cambridge. He is an award-winning journalist who spent ten years reporting from overseas, notably for Panorama. He is the author of five books including The English. He is the presenter of Newsnight and University Challenge and has presented BBC documentaries on various subjects including Victorian art and Wilfred Owen.

Jeremy Paxman was born in Yorkshire and educated at Cambridge. He is an award-winning journalist who spent ten years reporting from overseas, notably for Panorama. He is the author of five books including The English. He is the presenter of Newsnight and University Challenge and has presented BBC documentaries on various subjects inclu...
Loading
Title:EmpireFormat:PaperbackDimensions:400 pages, 7.78 × 5.12 × 0.87 inPublished:July 31, 2012Publisher:Penguin UkLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0670919594

ISBN - 13:9780670919598

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Empire: What Ruling the World Did to An informative and most interesting book. Well argued and with good supportive details. Some of Paxman's conclusions may cause the occasional shudder, some are readily recognised. It is certainly a book with insight approached with humour and without making judgements based upon the values-morals of today. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2014-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Empire: What Ruling the World Did to An informative and most interesting book. Well argued and with good supportive details. Some of Paxman's conclusions may cause the occasional shudder, some are readily recognised. It is certainly a book with insight approached with humour and without making judgements based upon the values-morals of today. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2014-07-20