Empress Game: The Empress Game Trilogy Book 1 by Rhonda MasonEmpress Game: The Empress Game Trilogy Book 1 by Rhonda Mason

Empress Game: The Empress Game Trilogy Book 1

byRhonda Mason

Paperback | July 14, 2015

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$17.35 online 
$19.50 list price save 11%
Earn 87 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Available in stores

about

One seat on the intergalactic Sakien Empire’s supreme ruling body, the Council of Seven, remains unfilled, that of the Empress Apparent. The seat isn’t won by votes or marriage. It’s won in a tournament of ritualized combat in the ancient tradition. Now that tournament, the Empress Game, has been called and the females of the empire will stop at nothing to secure political domination for their homeworlds.

The battle for political power isn’t contained by the tournament’s ring, however. The empire’s elite gather to forge, strengthen or betray alliances in a dance that will determine the fate of the empire for a generation. With the empire wracked by a rising nanovirus plague and stretched thin by an ill-advised planet-wide occupation of Ordoch in enemy territory, everything rests on the woman who rises to the top.

About The Author

Rhonda Mason is a debut author of fantasy and space opera fiction, based in the US. Rhonda’s dark urban fantasy short story was published in the anthology Modern Magic. She has an M.A. from Seton Hill University’s Writing Popular Fiction program where she focused on writing Speculative Fiction. She is published in short and long fictio...
Cloak Of War: The Empress Game Trilogy 2
Cloak Of War: The Empress Game Trilogy 2

by Rhonda Mason

$14.34$19.95

In stock online

Available in stores

Exile's Throne: The Empress Game Trilogy 3
Exile's Throne: The Empress Game Trilogy 3

by Rhonda Mason

$10.79$13.50

Pre-order online

Not available in stores

Exile's Throne: The Empress Game Trilogy 3
Exile's Throne: The Empress Game Trilogy 3

by Rhonda Mason

$17.75$19.95

Pre-order online

Not yet available in stores

Details & Specs

Title:Empress Game: The Empress Game Trilogy Book 1Format:PaperbackDimensions:352 pages, 8 × 5.12 × 0.99 inPublished:July 14, 2015Publisher:TitanLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1783295244

ISBN - 13:9781783295241

Look for similar items by category:

Nearby Stores

We found 0 nearby stores

Customer Reviews of Empress Game: The Empress Game Trilogy Book 1

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful Science Fiction Read This book was amazing. It managed to got me on board the train from the very first page, and by the end of the ride, I was left in a daze. Wow. I will definitely be reading the next book of the series once it comes out. Really enjoyed the setting of the romance in the book. It was not rushed. It proceeds slowly and actually get a chance to develop, unlike some books that just left you thinking, "where did that come from." Plus, they actually say "I love you" to each other instead of just making out, and the major factor is both of them said it. Yes, not just one person, but the both parties that were involve both said it to each other. So sweet. Really liked that aspect of it.
Date published: 2016-11-30

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

"The action is solid, which is always a delight to see in prose, and I really enjoyed that Mason took the time to show how Shadow’s constant fights would tax her physically." - The Literary Omnivore"I love, love, love this book. The Empress Game has everything one could want from a space opera: complex politics, heavy thematic exploration of power and murder, some awesome hand-to-hand combat scenes, and a hell of a female protagonist." - Kirkus"The author won me over. I shall certainly be looking for the next book in the trilogy." - Manhattan Book Review"One of the most fun books I’ve read all year" - Fangirl Nation "Will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games and Jack Campbell books" - Fangtastic Books"Skillfully told." -  Forces of Geek"Kayla is the kind of female character that should be celebrated in novels. She’s strong, devoted, independent and intriguing. It’s almost impossible not to cheer for her." -  Impedimenta Magazine"A fresh and original view of an intergalactic empire." - Paper Droids"Swift, smooth writing delivers visceral adventure." -  Blood Shed "I highly recommend this debut novel to all space opera fans, and even all science fiction and contemporary thriller fans." - JLGribble"Filled with strong women, fighting, and politics, this is a great novel for anyone who wants to immerse themselves in a new universe.  I loved The Empress Game." - Mugglenet"I couldn't put this book down." - Destiny Falls"Once I started reading her novel I found I couldn’t put it down." - Geekstronomy"This debut novel, the first volume in a trilogy, uses the backdrop of a winner-take-all female gladiatorial contest for the hand of a prince and a seat on the Galactic Ruling Council to tell a story that’s full of political intrigue, corrupt government officials, lost princesses, and unethical scientific experimentation. The forces who think they are good start by cheating—they get a fighting machine body double for their preferred candidate, not realizing that she is the lost princess of a conquered planet. Kayla Reunimon (aka Shadow Panthe) doesn’t share their agenda, but the secret that she would kill for or die to keep throws the group’s plans into chaos. Her aim is to fight, win, and escape, and she doesn’t understand that the best thing she can do to save her people is to continue this charade for the rest of her life. VERDICT This surprisingly complex political and personal narrative is slow to take off, but once it does, the plots, counterplot, and cheating will keep readers on the edge of their seats. Kayla’s complicated loyalties make her an intriguing heroine, and her layered story keeps the reader guessing until the very end. Recommended for space opera and sf romance fans." - Library Journal Review "Mason delivers an old fashioned space opera -- passion, politics, and the fate of Empires hanging on the strength and courage of a single woman.  You'll want to reach immediately for book two." Tanya Huff, author of A Confederation of Valor "Fast, smart, complex, and fun as hell… one of the best books I've read this year. A near-perfect blend of romance, action, and interstellar politics in a well-thought-out and original universe with a tough-as-nails heroine you can't help but root for.” Rachel Bach, author of Fortune’s Pawn"A wild ride. The author keeps the reader guessing and just when things seem impossible, more challenges are presented. Kayla is a likeable and exciting heroine and the book was a real pleasure to read." - SF Reader“All in all, the Empress Game is the book of the summer!...if I could give the book more than five stars, I would.” - Open Book Society “Sophisticated space opera. Psi powers. Holographic princess impersonation. Badass female protagonists who display said badassery in the physical AND political arenas. What else could you possibly ask for?” - The Book Smugglers  “The Empress Game...is space opera done right, , powered by impressively complex world-building and an intriguing and endearing heroine.” - Barnes & Noble "The novel really shines when the fists and the knives come out." - Skiffy and Fanty