English Fiction Since 1984: Narrating a Nation by B. FinneyEnglish Fiction Since 1984: Narrating a Nation by B. Finney

English Fiction Since 1984: Narrating a Nation

byB. Finney

Hardcover | October 10, 2006

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 780 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


This book focuses on the work of a group of British novelists who have broken in different ways from the realist British novel of the post Second World War period without losing their broad appeal among readers. Authors discussed include Salman Rushdie, A.S. Byatt, Ian McEwan, Angela Carter, Jeanette Winterson and Kazuo Ishiguro. All of these writers have been compelled to seek out new narrative strategies to give appropriate expression to their different responses to a world dominated by global capital and by the media and electronic systems of communication serving its ends.
BRIAN FINNEY is an Associate Professor in English at California State University, Long Beach, USA. He taught at London University from 1964-1987, and, since emigrating to the USA, at UCR, UCLA, and USC. He has published Since How It Is: A Study of Samuel Beckett's Later Fiction (1972), Christopher Isherwood: A Critical Biography for w...
Title:English Fiction Since 1984: Narrating a NationFormat:HardcoverDimensions:248 pages, 8.5 × 5.51 × 0 inPublished:October 10, 2006Publisher:Palgrave Macmillan UKLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0230008550

ISBN - 13:9780230008557


Table of Contents

Acknowledgements * Introduction * PART I: HISTORY, MODERNITY AND METAFICTION * Preface * Peter Ackroyd: Chatterton (1987) * Julian Barnes: A History of the World in 10 ½ Chapters (1989) * Martin Amis: Time's Arrow (1991) * A.S. Byatt: Angels and Insects (1992) * Ian McEwan: Atonement (2001) * PART II: NATIONAL CULTURES AND HYBRID NARRATIVE MODES * Preface * Salman Rushdie: The Satanic Verses (1988) * Hanif Kureishi: The Buddha of Suburbia (1990) * Kazuo Ishiguro: When We Were Orphans (2000) * PART III: NARRATIVE CONSTRUCTIONS OF IDENTITY * Preface * Angela Carter: Nights at the Circus (1984) * Jeanette Winterson: Written on the Body (1992) * Graham Swift: Last Orders (1996) * Bibliography * Index