Enigma Variations by Richard PriceEnigma Variations by Richard Price

Enigma Variations

byRichard Price, Sally Price

Paperback | October 15, 1997

Pricing and Purchase Info

$29.37 online 
$30.95 list price save 5%
Earn 147 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Noted writers on art, culture, and the tropical Americas, Richard and Sally Price have crafted a mystery at the intersections of art and anthropology. Drawing readers into their quest for a solution, they build an unusual partnership between text and pictures, daringly expanding the possibilities of academic discourse. Enigma Variations--in the tradition of The Recognitions and The Crying of Lot 49--is an entertainment as readable for its intellectual power as for its irresistible drama.

Richard Price is Dittman Professor of American Studies and Professor of Anthropology and History at College of William and Mary in Virginia.
Samaritan
Samaritan

by Richard Price

$18.95

In stock online

Available in stores

Clockers: A Novel
Clockers: A Novel

by Richard Price

$18.06$22.99

In stock online

Available in stores

Shop this author
Title:Enigma VariationsFormat:PaperbackDimensions:176 pages, 8.69 × 5.56 × 0 inPublished:October 15, 1997Publisher:Harvard

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0674257286

ISBN - 13:9780674257283

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Enigma Variations

Reviews

From Our Editors

In a steamy colonial city, an eccentric Frenchman offers for sale an extraordinary collection of primitive art. The two anthropologists called in to appraise the pieces for the national museum quickly find themselves in a murky world where the boundaries of authenticity and deception blur in the tropical heat. What begins as an intellectual puzzle threatens to turn into a deadly confrontation. As the game of cat-and-mouse unfolds, the trail leads from the fashionable living rooms of French expatriates to the thatched huts of the Amazonian rainforest, from a Princeton seminar room to a cluttered warehouse not far from Devil's Island, from a chic Parisian cafe to the cobbled streets of northeastern Brazil. Are the objects in the collection worldclass masterpieces of primitive art? Or do they reflect the agile hand and twisted mind of a brilliant forger? Or might the ultimate enigma be of an entirely different nature? Under the equatorial sun, the anthropologists' obsessive pursuit of Truth gradually undermines their academic certainties about art and culture - and,

Editorial Reviews

Noted writers on art, culture, and the tropical Americas, Richard and Sally Price have crafted a mystery at the intersections of art and anthropology. Drawing readers into their quest for a solution, they build an unusual partnership between text and pictures, daringly expanding the possibilities of academic discourse. Enigma Variations--in the tradition of The Recognitions and The Crying of Lot 49--is an entertainment as readable for its intellectual power as for its irresistible drama.A rare combination of scholarly passion and an exuberant narrative skill...Every page startles with some new revelation.