Entangled

Kobo eBook available

read instantly on your Kobo or tablet.

buy the ebook now

Entangled

by Amy Rose Capetta

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt | October 1, 2013 | Hardcover

Entangled is rated 3 out of 5 by 1.
Alone was the note Cade knew best. It was the root of all her chords. Seventeen-year-old Cade is a fierce survivor, solo in the universe with her cherry-red guitar. Or so she thought. Her world shakes apart when a hologram named Mr. Niven tells her she was created in a lab in the year 3112, then entangled at a subatomic level with a boy named Xan. Cade's quest to locate Xan joins her with an array of outlaws-her first friends-on a galaxy-spanning adventure. And once Cade discovers the wild joy of real connection, there's no turning back.

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 336 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.09 in

Published: October 1, 2013

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0544087445

ISBN - 13: 9780544087446

save 0%

  • In stock online
$24.99 list price

$24.99 ea online

eGift this item

Give this item in the form of an eGift Card.

+ what is this?

This item is eligible for FREE SHIPPING on orders over $25.
See details

Easy, FREE returns. See details

Item can only be shipped in Canada

Downloads instantly to your kobo or other ereading device. See details

All available formats:

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Unique Sci-fi Novel Entangled is a science fiction novel that is quite unique. I usually hate sci-fi novels about space but this one did quite alright. The idea of entanglement and how people can benefit from it is great and is quite exciting to see. Cade is seventeen years old and she is solo on a planet called Andana. It's a time where all the humans are in space and no longer on Earth. There are some planets that they have settled on but a lot are in space going around. Humans get spacesick when they're in space for too long and needs to get planetbound. Cade never got spacesick and that's phenomenal. Entangled was good with its actions. Once Cade found out she was entangled to Xan and he needs help, she was on her way to the most dangerous place in space. Along the trip, she does learn quite a few things about relationships with others and that has helped her with entanglement. The crew that was with her (Rennik, Lee, Ayumi, and Gori) are all great. They're all from different backgrounds yet they weren't hostile towards each other. They all connected and helped each other like they were one team. I feel like Cade has learned valuable lessons throughout the whole trip and that has helped her understand the universe better. This book was worth reading and it's a space sci-fi that I actually really enjoyed! The ending was a bit questionable and it was weird.. but overall, it was a great novel!
Date published: 2013-11-03

– More About This Product –

Entangled

Entangled

by Amy Rose Capetta

Format: Hardcover

Dimensions: 336 pages, 8.25 × 5.5 × 1.09 in

Published: October 1, 2013

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Language: English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10: 0544087445

ISBN - 13: 9780544087446

Read from the Book

Chapter 1  PURESTATE  A quantum system that cannot be described as a mixture of any others      Saturday night, and Cade was headed to the one place on Andana that she didn’t hate. The one place where she could be around other humans and almost stand it.   First she had to put on the right armor: black skirt, black gloves. Spiked her lashes with a bit of black market mascara, checked the effect in a broken-tipped triangle of mirror. Added two matching oil slicks of eyeliner. Grabbed her guitar.   Slapped and echoed up the metal ladder, out of her glorified cement bunker, into the empty-stomach rattle of the desert.   Her footprints crumbled in the sand as soon as she shifted her weight. Each breath was dust and dust and air—in that order. Each breath made her lungs curl into fists, ready to fight their way back to some blinked-out mother planet—a place she would never see because it didn’t exist.   Cade swung her guitar case over the line that meant theend of the Andanan deserts and the beginning of Voidvil. It was a real line—dunes on one side, and, on the other, buildings that shot like dark fingers out of the sand.   Cade didn’t love the deserts of Andana. But she wanted to peel off her own skin and give it a firm shake when she thought about living in Voidvil. It was a human town—really a human trap—a place where people piled on top of each other deep and high in apartment towers crusted with the black of fire escapes.   On the bubbled-tar sidewalks at the edge of town, m
read more read less

From the Publisher

Alone was the note Cade knew best. It was the root of all her chords. Seventeen-year-old Cade is a fierce survivor, solo in the universe with her cherry-red guitar. Or so she thought. Her world shakes apart when a hologram named Mr. Niven tells her she was created in a lab in the year 3112, then entangled at a subatomic level with a boy named Xan. Cade's quest to locate Xan joins her with an array of outlaws-her first friends-on a galaxy-spanning adventure. And once Cade discovers the wild joy of real connection, there's no turning back.

About the Author

Amy Rose Capetta holds an MFA in Writing for Children & Young Adults from Vermont College of Fine Arts. She has a particle-level love of mind-bending science and all sorts of music. She adores her small patch of universe, but also looks intently at the stars. Entangled is her first book with Houghton Mifflin.

Editorial Reviews

"[An] accomplished debut."
Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Rock and roll crashes head-on into sci-fi in this outing from debut author Capetta. . . Raucous, fun, and futuristic, this should appeal to fans of Antony John's Five Flavors of Dumb and R. J. Anderson's Ultraviolet."
Booklist

"This is an accomplished debut, an intriguing and thought-provoking space adventure that will hopefully lead to a sequel."
VOYA, 4Q 4P S

"A rollicking space adventure perfect for fans of the cult classic TV show Firefly."
The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books