Enthusiast!: Essays on Modern American Literature by David Herd

Enthusiast!: Essays on Modern American Literature

byDavid Herd

Paperback | June 30, 2014

not yet rated|write a review

Pricing and Purchase Info

$36.50

Earn 183 plum® points

Ships within 1-3 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores

about

Enthusiast! is a polemical history of American literature told from the point of view of six of its major enthusiasts. Complaining that his age was "retrospective", Emerson injected enthusiasm into American literature as a way of making it new. "What," he asked, "is a man good for without enthusiasm? and what is enthusiasm but the daring of ruin for its object?" This book takes enthusiasm to be a defining feature ofAmerican literature, showing how successive major writers - Melville, Thoreau, Pound, Moore, Frank O'Hara and James Schuyler - have modernized and re-modeled Emerson's founding sense of enthusiasm. The book presents the writer as enthusiast, showing how enthusiasm is fundamental to the compositionand the circulation of literature. Enthusiasm, it is argued, is the way literary value is passed on. Starting with a brief history of enthusiasm from Plato to Kant and Emerson, the book features chapters on each of Melville, Thoreau, Pound, Moore, O'Hara, and Schuyler. Each chapter presents an aspect of the writer as enthusiast, the book as a whole charting the changing sense of literary enthusiasmfrom Romanticism to the present day. Lucidly written and combatively argued, the book will appeal to readers of American Literature or Modern Poetry, and to all those interested in the circulation of literary work.

About The Author

David Herd is Senior Lecturer in English and American Literature at the University of Kent.
Moby Dick
Moby Dick

by Herman Melville

$3.32

Available for download

Not available in stores

All Just
All Just

by David Herd

$15.19$18.99

Available for download

Not available in stores

Through
Through

by David Herd

$10.69$13.31

Available for download

Not available in stores

Shop this author

Details & Specs

Title:Enthusiast!: Essays on Modern American LiteratureFormat:PaperbackDimensions:228 pages, 9.21 × 6.14 × 0.03 inPublished:June 30, 2014Publisher:Oxford University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0719095840

ISBN - 13:9780719095849

Look for similar items by category:

Customer Reviews of Enthusiast!: Essays on Modern American Literature

Reviews

Extra Content

Table of Contents

Introduction: A Short Essay on Enthusiasm
1. Crowing
2. Spouting
3. Calling
4. Presenting
5. Circulating
6. Relishing
Afterword: Enthusiasm and Audit
Acknowledgements
Bibliography