Epitaph (complete - Full Score) by Charles MingusEpitaph (complete - Full Score) by Charles Mingus

Epitaph (complete - Full Score)

byCharles Mingus

Spiral Bound | July 1, 2008

Pricing and Purchase Info

$163.80 online 
$182.00 list price save 10%
Earn 819 plum® points

Prices and offers may vary in store


Ships within 1-3 weeks

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


(Jazz Publications). Epitaph , written for a 31-piece ensemble, was the masterwork of composer/bassist Charles Mingus. The extended suite is comprised of multiple movements reflecting a wealth of compositional styles (not just jazz) that demonstrate Mingus' invaluable contribution to 20th-century American music. Since its last performance 15 years ago, additional movements have been discovered that were originally intended to be a part of the work. This unique 500-page score includes these "missing movements" along with historical and program notes. Prepared and edited under the guidance of Gunther Schuller and Sue Mingus, it provides a monumental resource for study and analysis. The first jazz composition of such magnitude ever to be published, it is presented in this edition as he left it: a summary work, a portrait for all time of his life in music. "I wrote it for my tombstone." - Charles Mingus
Title:Epitaph (complete - Full Score)Format:Spiral BoundDimensions:357 pages, 17 × 11 × 0.95 inPublished:July 1, 2008Publisher:Jazz Workshop, Inc.Language:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:1423449657

ISBN - 13:9781423449652

Look for similar items by category: