Eudora Welty: The Contemporary Reviews by Pearl Amelia McHaneyEudora Welty: The Contemporary Reviews by Pearl Amelia McHaney

Eudora Welty: The Contemporary Reviews

EditorPearl Amelia McHaney

Hardcover | April 25, 2005

Pricing and Purchase Info


Earn 1455 plum® points

In stock online

Ships free on orders over $25

Not available in stores


Pulitzer Prize-winning author Eudora Welty's writing and photography were the subject of more than one thousand reviews, of which over two hundred are collected here. From the first, reviewers loved Welty's language and disparaged her lack of plot. Their eager anticipation for the next book is rarely diminished by the shock of reading entirely different styles of writing. Her work was admired even as it challenged its readers. The reviews selected for reprinting here represent the diversity of Welty's reception and assessment. Reviews from small towns, urban centers, noted fiction writers, professional reviewers, academics, and everyday readers are included. The comments of reviewing rivals such as the New York Times and the New York Herald Tribune, Nation and New Yorker, when read side by side, reveal the nuances both of the reviewers and of the work of this important Southern writer.
Pearl McHaney is Assistant Professor of English at Georgia State University. Pearl McHaney is Assistant Professor of English at Georgia State University.
Title:Eudora Welty: The Contemporary ReviewsFormat:HardcoverDimensions:420 pages, 8.98 × 5.98 × 1.02 inPublished:April 25, 2005Publisher:Cambridge University PressLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0521653177

ISBN - 13:9780521653176

Look for similar items by category:


Table of Contents

Series editor's preface; Introduction; Acknowledgements; A note on the selections; 1. Curtain of Green (1941); 2. The Robber Bridegroom (1942); 3. The Wide Net (1943); 4. Delta Wedding (1946); 5. Music From Spain (1949); 6. The Golden Apples (1949); 7. The Ponder Heart (1954); 8. The Bride of the Innisfallen (1955); 9. The Shoe Bird (1964) (Reprint 1993); 10. Losing Battles (1970); 11. One Time, One Place (1971); 12. The Optimist's Daughter (1972); 13. The Eye of the Story (1978); 14. The Collected Stories of Eudora Welty (1980); 15. One Writer's Beginnings (1984); 16. Photographs (1989); 17. A Writer's Eye: Collected Book Reviews (1994); 18. Complete Novels and Stories, Essays, and Memoir (1998); 19. Country Churchyards (2000); Index.