Evertrue: An Everneath Novel

Paperback | December 23, 2014

byBrodi Ashton

not yet rated|write a review

Inspired by the Persephone myth, this stunning conclusion to the Everneath trilogy, whose captivating first book earned a VOYA Perfect Ten of 2011 and a Whitney award, explores the resiliency of the human spirit and the indomitable power of true love. Perfect for fans of Fallen and Beautiful Creatures!

Now that Nikki has rescued Jack, all she wants is to be with him and graduate high school. But after being tricked by Cole, she's begun the process of turning into an Everliving herself . . . which means she must feed on a Forfeit soon—or die. Nikki and Jack begin a desperate attempt to reverse the process, using everything they can think of. Even Cole, who they expected to fight them at every turn, has become an unlikely ally—but for how long? Nikki needs to feed on Cole to survive, Cole needs Nikki to gain the throne in the Everneath, Jack needs Nikki because she is everything to him—and, together, they must travel back to the underworld to undo Nikki's fate and make her mortal once more.

Will Nikki be forced to spend eternity in the underworld—or does she have what it takes to bring down the Everneath once and for all?

Pricing and Purchase Info

$11.92 online
$12.50 list price
In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

Inspired by the Persephone myth, this stunning conclusion to the Everneath trilogy, whose captivating first book earned a VOYA Perfect Ten of 2011 and a Whitney award, explores the resiliency of the human spirit and the indomitable power of true love. Perfect for fans of Fallen and Beautiful Creatures!Now that Nikki has rescued Jack, a...

From the Jacket

The electrifying conclusion to the Everneath trilogy!Now that Nikki has rescued Jack, all she wants is to be with him and graduate high school. But after being tricked by Cole, she's begun the process of turning into an Everliving herself . . . which means she must feed on a Forfeit soon—or die.Terrified for Nikki's survival, she and J...

Brodi Ashton is also the author ofEverneathandEverbound, both of which were named VOYA Perfect 10s. She received a bachelor's degree in journalism from the University of Utah and a master's degree in international relations from the London School of Economics. Brodi lives in Utah with her family.

other books by Brodi Ashton

My Lady Jane
My Lady Jane

Hardcover|Jun 7 2016

$21.73 online$21.99list price
Everneath
Everneath

Paperback|Dec 26 2012

$12.50

Everbound: An Everneath Novel
Everbound: An Everneath Novel

Paperback|Dec 23 2013

$9.47 online$12.50list price(save 24%)
see all books by Brodi Ashton
Format:PaperbackDimensions:368 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.83 inPublished:December 23, 2014Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062071203

ISBN - 13:9780062071200

Customer Reviews of Evertrue: An Everneath Novel

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great finale I really enjoyed this - it was a great wrap up to the series, and all in all a very exciting, heart-wrenching read. There were some things, though, that kept it from being a four.I might have judged harsher had I not loved the previous books as much, but I'm feeling nice. Cole's arc didn't sit well with me. What happened early in the book - the thing that made him an "unlikely ally" - seemed to me a bit too convenient, and it robbed him of the kind of true redemption that conscious choice would have given him. I really liked Cole's character, but I felt like the agency given him was too little, too late. It changed his arc from what could have been really heartbreaking to something just sorta sad. Sure, I wanted him to do a 180, but not that way. That was like hitting him over the head and turning him around while he's still dazed and dizzy. It was a bit underwhelming, and I wanted more for Cole. Jack's macho-ness was a bit too much - it got to the point where it was a little bit silly. I love Jack, and I love Jack and Nikki together - there were some seriously squee-worthy moments - but I wanted to roll my eyes a couple times, or giggle, or something. He could have something else going for him other than his undying love for Nikki, too, besides his manpower. I dunno, I was just hoping for more from him. The pace was a bit off, too - it seemed to me to end rather abruptly. I seem to remember having the same issue with the first two books, too. The setting was kinda weak - they run around so many places, and yet I don't have much of an impression of any of them except a big blur. This makes it sound like I didn't like it - I did. It was just a bit underwhelming. I was really glad the whole love triangle thing didn't really make an appearance until the end, and only then (it could be argued) in a friendshippy way. I'm really glad there was no more angst about Nikki and Jack's relationship, and it could just sit there being cute while the important stuff happened. I like the Greek mythology tie-ins and the action scenes. I guess my issue with this book was that it suffered a bit from Final-Book-In-A-Trilogy syndrome. As a third book it was pretty solid - it wrapped everything up and left readers satisfied with answers and rounded off character arcs. But it spent so much energy doing that stuff that it neglected the pace, the characters and the plot a little bit in favor of a conclusion, leaving me with the general feeling that it could have been more. I wanted more from Jack, and more from Cole, and more about the Queen. I wanted less running around - endless airports and hotels and driving and zooming - and more character development. Still, a good book, and a really good series. I'm super glad I read it, and I'll definitely be picking up whatever Brodi Ashton writes next. I might also go into Jack/Nikki withdrawal for a bit, because, as a hopeless romantic, I really did find them extremely cute and swoon-worthy.
Date published: 2016-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Omg. Idk. Im freaking out. :O :O :( The feels tho.
Date published: 2014-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved it! What a great ending to the series!
Date published: 2014-02-08

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

Praise for EVERNEATH: “The author brings a fresh, innovative concept to young adult fiction with well-developed characters and a fantastic plot line .... Libraries are advised to buy multiple copies-this one will fly off the shelves.”