Every Last Promise

Paperback | April 21, 2015

byKristin Halbrook

not yet rated|write a review

Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about a girl who must decide between keeping quiet and speaking up after witnessing a classmate's sexual assault.

Kayla saw something at the party that she wasn't supposed to. But she hasn't told anyone. No one knows the real story about what happened that night—about why Kayla was driving the car that ran into a ditch after the party, about what she saw in the hours leading up to the accident, and about the promise she made to her friend Bean before she left for the summer.

Now Kayla's coming home for her senior year. If Kayla keeps quiet, she might be able to get her old life back. If she tells the truth, she risks losing everything—and everyone—she ever cared about.

Pricing and Purchase Info

$12.50

In stock online
Ships free on orders over $25
Prices may vary. why?
Please call ahead to confirm inventory.

From the Publisher

Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Gayle Forman, Every Last Promise is a provocative and emotional novel about a girl who must decide between keeping quiet and speaking up after witnessing a classmate's sexual assault.Kayla saw something at the party that she wasn't supposed to. But she hasn't told anyone. No one knows the r...

From the Jacket

One boy is dead. One boy is injured. And it's all Kayla's fault. At least, that's what everyone thinks.No one knows the real story about why she got behind the wheel that night in the first place, or about the promise she made to her friend Bean. The truth is, Kayla saw something at the party that she wasn't supposed to, and she hasn't...

Kristin halbrook is the author ofNobody But Us. When she isn't appeasing her sense of wanderlust, she lives in Seattle, where gray skies and good coffee make ideal writing conditions, and where fine company is provided by her husband and a gaggle of pixies.

other books by Kristin Halbrook

Nobody But Us
Nobody But Us

Paperback|Jan 29 2013

$9.74 online$12.50list price(save 22%)
Die Geschichte von Zoe und Will: Roman
Die Geschichte von Zoe und Will: Roman

Kobo ebook|Jul 22 2013

$15.19 online$19.67list price(save 22%)
Rien que nous
Rien que nous

Kobo ebook|Aug 28 2013

$14.99

Format:PaperbackDimensions:288 pages, 8 × 5.31 × 0.65 inPublished:April 21, 2015Publisher:HarperCollinsLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0062121286

ISBN - 13:9780062121288

Customer Reviews of Every Last Promise

Reviews

Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent but lacked some depth Kayla saw something that a party, something she’s kept secret all these months. No one knows the truth behind the night of the accident, no one but her, her friend Bean, and one other person. Kayla spent the summer away but now she’s back for her senior year and it’s not going to be easy to face everyone she left behind. Or their accusing glares. She could speak up, but even if people believe her, she still risks losing everything. This was my first Kristin Halbrook book and it ended up being a pretty fast read. It told was all through Kayla’s POV but in alternating timelines, the present where she was dealing with coming back and the past leading up to the party that changed everything. The different POVs were quite easy to keep track of since Kayla seemed like such a changed person from the weight of the secret she was keeping. I found Kayla to be quite a likeable character, though I liked her more in the present as she was determined to face her peers after spending so much time away after the accident. She came back and everything was different, her group of friends broken, and she wanted answers. In the before parts, their friendship had seemed so strong and I loved that she wanted to find out what happened and hopefully repair it. There were times when it definitely wasn’t easy for her to adjust to being back but she never let it show. Her wavering on whether she should speak up or keep her secret was realistic no matter how badly I wanted to scream at her to do the right thing. It was going to be a hard decision she would have to live with no matter what she chose and the author did a great job portraying that. Other than Kayla, I found it hard to get a grasp on the other characters. There was so much there that could have been explored and developed but was left alone. The book was very short, under 300 pages, so maybe there wasn’t the time, but I think I would have connected more with them if there had been more to them. At times, the book was a little too realistic. In a good way. Kayla was a regular girl, not someone looking to be a hero, and she struggled with what she knew was the right thing to do vs what was the easy thing to do. What happened that night of the party does happen and people do stay quiet about it, and it was impossible(rightly so) to forget that while reading this book. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Date published: 2015-05-01

Extra Content

Editorial Reviews

“A dark, romantic wild ride reminiscent of Thelma and Louise.”