Exposed by Kimberly Marcus

Exposed

byKimberly Marcus

Kobo ebook | February 22, 2011

Pricing and Purchase Info

$9.99

Prices and offers may vary in store

Available for download

Not available in stores

about

In the dim light of the darkroom, I'm alone, but not for long.
As white turns to gray, Kate is with me.
The background of the dance studio blurred, so the focus is all on her
legs extended in a perfect soaring split.
The straight line to my squiggle,
my forever-best friend.

Sixteen-year-old Liz is Photogirl—sharp, focused and confident in what she sees through her camera lens. Confident that she and Kate will be best friends forever.

But everything changes in one blurry night. Suddenly, Kate is avoiding her, and people are looking the other way when she passes in the halls. As the aftershocks from a startling accusation rip through Liz's world, everything she thought she knew about photography, family, friendship and herself shifts out of focus. What happens when the picture you see no longer makes sense? What do you do when you may lose everything you love most? Told in stunning, searingly raw free verse, Exposed is Kimberly Marcus's gut-wrenching, riveting debut and will appeal to fans of Ellen Hopkins, Laurie Halse Anderson and Virginia Euwer Wolff.

From the Hardcover edition.

Title:ExposedFormat:Kobo ebookPublished:February 22, 2011Publisher:Random House Children's BooksLanguage:English

The following ISBNs are associated with this title:

ISBN - 10:0375897240

ISBN - 13:9780375897245

Reviews

Rated 4 out of 5 by from not another abuse novel This book was really really good. Written in verse so it made a sensitive subject easier to handle. What happens when your best friend sleeps with your brother and you find out through someone else? that is what happens with Liz when she hears that kate and her brother had a thing. She gets super angry but what happens when you find out that it might not have been consensual and your brother might be in the wrong? Where do you turn? Against your friend that you've had your whole life? or your own blood? That is the situation that Liz is in and she doesn't know what to do. Great book because it gives different view points on a very serious subject and it shows how confused Liz gets trying to decipher fact from fiction. Very well written and much better than I expected. What was best was when you saw Liz's confusion did her brother actually do what he was accused of? The only part I didn't like was the ending I felt it was lacking something. Check out this book if you haven't already.
Date published: 2018-01-10